city of San Antonio

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 20-1825   
Type: Appointment - With Ordinance
In control: City Council A Session
On agenda: 2/20/2020
Posting Language: Ordinance appointing Karen Davis, Oscar Briones, Ebony Barkley-Jordan, Antonio Amado, Karen Farias, Roy Lozano, and Jerry Broderick to the Citizens Advisory Action Board (CAAB) for two-year terms of office. [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William McManus, Chief of Police]
Attachments: 1. CAAB Appointment Packet

DEPARTMENT HEAD: William P. McManus, Chief of Police


SUBJECT: Citizen Advisory Action Board


An Ordinance authorizing the following appointments to the Citizen Advisory Action Board (CAAB) for a two-year term to expire on March 1, 2022. The recommended list of appointees includes the following seven members of the community:

Karen Davis
Oscar Briones
Ebony Barkley-Jordan
Antonio Amado
Karen Farias
Roy Lozano
Jerry Broderick

A total of 17 applicants were considered by a four-person panel, which consisted of Deputy City Manager Mar?a Villag?mez, Chief of Police William McManus, Deputy City Attorney Elizabeth Provencio, and Captain Timothy Vaughan. The selected applicants will serve with the current civilian board members.

A priority of the City's during the 2009 collective bargaining negotiations and included within the final agreement was an increase in citizen participation within the citizen complaint process and internal police investigations. Additionally, how citizens were selected was amended to remove the SAPOA ability to strike candidates for consideration prior to City Council selection.

The CAAB, which is comprised of seven uniformed officers and seven civilians, meets bi-weekly to hear investigations on complaints made against police officers for misconduct, use of force and violations of the SAPD general manual and makes recommendations of discipline to the Police Chief. The Police Chief selects a Deputy Chief to serve as the Chairman of the CAAB for a six month term. The remaining six uniform positions, which consist of one Captain, one Lieutenant, one Sergeant, one Detective-Investigator and two patrol officers, are selected to serve a six month term by the Police Chief from a list of officers that respond to a department-wide advertisement. Including a diverse group of community members in the review of complaints against police officers enhances the t...

Click here for full text