APPOINTING MARI AGUIRRE-RODRIGUEZ AS THE TEMPORARY REPLACEMENT CITY COUNCIL MEMBER FOR DISTRICT 7.

* * * * *

WHEREAS, Council member Cris Medina, District 7 representative on the City Council of the City of San Antonio, was activated into military service on August 4, 2014, thus creating a temporary vacancy in the District 7 office; and

WHEREAS, the Texas Constitution permits the City Council to fill the temporary vacancy until such time as the military service has concluded, which is set for October 10, 2014; and

WHEREAS, the City Council invited qualified residents of District 7 to submit applications to the Office of the City Clerk for consideration for appointment to temporarily fill the vacancy until Council member Medina returns from military service; and

WHEREAS, the City Council now wishes to appoint a temporary replacement for District 7; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. Mari Aguirre-Rodriguez is appointed to serve as a temporary member of the City Council of the City of San Antonio, in Place No. 7, to serve until the Council member Medina returns from his military service, scheduled for October 10, 2014.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, on the tenth day after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 14th day of August 2014.

M A Y O R

Ivy R. Taylor

ATTEST:

JULION NELLA

Aticia M. Vacek, City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Robert F. Greenblum, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	6						
Date:	08/14/2014						
Time:	11:44:23 AM						
Vote Type:	Other: To Appoint Mari Aguirre						
Description:	An Ordinance appointing a replacement City Councilmember for District 7. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy Taylor	Mayor		х				
Diego Bernal	District 1		х				
	District 2	х					
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x				х
Rey Saldaña	District 4		х				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		х				
Ray Lopez	District 6		х				
	District 7	х					
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		х				
Joe Krier	District 9		х			х	
Michael Gallagher	District 10		x				