AN ORDINANCE 2014 - 08 - 21 - 0608

AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY LEAVE FOR FIRE ENGINEER MARGARET FLORES.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Engineer Margaret Flores was injured in the line of duty on September 12, 2010, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Engineer Flores is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period November 2, 2013, to January 19, 2014; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 480 hours of accrued leave to Engineer Flores; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Engineer Margaret Flores line-of-duty injury leave for the period November 2, 2013, to January 19, 2014, is hereby approved.

CHW 08/21/14 Item No. 28

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 21st day of August, 2014.

M A Y
Ivy R. Taylor

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

.

Agenda Item:	28 (in consent vote: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19A, 19B, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 32, 33)						
Date:	08/21/2014						
Time:	09:14:51 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance authorizing the extension of line-of-duty leave for Fire Engineer Margaret Flores. [Erik J. Walsh, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]						
Result:	Passed			*****			
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy Taylor	Mayor		х				
Diego Bernal	District 1		х				
Keith Toney	District 2		х				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		х				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		х				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		x				
Ray Lopez	District 6		x				х
Mari Aguirre-Rodriguez	District 7		х				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		х				
Joe Krier	District 9		х				
Michael Gallagher	District 10		х			х	