ORDINANCE 2020 - 04 - 23 - 0289

AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT FIRE ENGINEER RICHARD ORTIZ.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Richard Ortiz was injured in the line of duty on March 5, 2018, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Fire Engineer Ortiz is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period March 9, 2019, to April 23, 2019; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 384 hours of accrued leave to Fire Engineer Ortiz; **NOW THEREFORE**:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Ortiz's line-of-duty injury leave for the period March 9, 2019 to April 23, 2019 is hereby approved.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 23rd day of April, 2020.

Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Tina Flores, Acting City Clerk

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

File Number: 20-2690 Enactment Number: 2020-04-23-0289



City of San Antonio

City Council
April 23, 2020

Item: 17

Enactment Number:

File Number: 20-2690

2020-04-23-0289

Ordinance extending line-of-duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Richard Ortiz. [Maria Villagomez, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]

Councilmember John Courage made a motion to approve. Councilmember Roberto C. Treviño seconded the motion. The motion passed by the following vote:

Aye: 11 Nirenberg, Treviño, Andrews-Sullivan, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Gonzales, Cabello Havrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage and Perry