City of San Antonio



AGENDA Public Safety Committee

Tuesday, August 25, 2020 10:00 AM Videoconference

To protect the health of the public and limit the potential spread of COVID-19, the City Council Public Safety Committee will hold this meeting via videoconference. These meeting standards are based upon the various suspended provisions of the Open Meetings Act issued by the Texas Governor in response to the COVID-19 crisis. These modified standards shall remain in place until further notice or until the state disaster declaration expires or is otherwise terminated by the Texas Governor.

The meeting will be available to the public on AT&T channel 99, Grande channel 20, Spectrum channel 21, digital antenna 16, and at www.sanantonio.gov/TVSA. It will also be available by calling (210) 207-5555 (English and Spanish available).

Members of the public can comment or speak on items on the agenda. Public Comment will be scheduled during the meeting by the Chair. To submit comments or sign up to speak, please go to www.sanantonio.gov/agenda and click on the eComment link associated with the agenda for instructions. Questions relating to the rules on addressing the Committee may be directed to the Office of the City Clerk at (210) 207-7253.

Once a quorum is established, the Public Safety Committee shall consider the following for discussion and possible action:

- 1. <u>20-4883</u> Approval of minutes from the Public Safety Committee meeting on June 18, 2020
- 2. <u>20-5056</u> Approval of minutes from the Public Safety Committee meeting on June 20, 2020
- 3. <u>20-5057</u> Approval of minutes from the Public Safety Committee meeting on June 24, 2020

Items for Consideration

- 4. 20-5060 Briefing and possible action on the Council Consideration Request (CCR) from Councilmember Andrews Sullivan to ban the practice of the lateral vascular neck restraint (LVNR) within the San Antonio Police Department (SAPD). [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
- 5. 20-5061 Briefing and possible action on the Council Consideration Request (CCR) from Councilmember Andrews Sullivan for the immediate documented discontinuation and banning of "No-Knock" warrants and procedures in the San Antonio Police Department (SAPD) Manual. [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
- 6. <u>20-5059</u> Briefing and possible action on FY 2021 Proposed Police Budget [María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]
- 7. <u>20-4882</u> Briefing and possible action on San Antonio Police Department grants:
 - A. Grant in an amount up to \$250,000.00 from the Office of the Governor, Criminal Justice Division (OOG/CJD), Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) for the purchase of an additional acquisition workstation for expanded participation in the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms National (BATF) Integrated Ballistic Information Network (NIBIN) program.
 - B. Grant in an amount up to \$291,972.00 from the U.S. Department of Justice to support the Child Welfare Strategic Alliance Program (Bexar County will serve as the grant fiscal agent).

[María Villagómez, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]

Executive Session

At any time during the meeting, the Committee may meet in executive session by videoconference for consultation with the City Attorney's Office concerning attorney client matters under Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code.

Consideration of items for future meetings

Adjourn

DISABILITY ACCESS STATEMENT

This meeting will take place via videoconference. Auxiliary Aids and Services, including Deaf interpreters, must be requested forty-eight [48] hours prior to the meeting. For assistance, call (210) 207-7268 or 711 Texas Relay Service for the Deaf.

Public Safety Committee Members
Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6, Chair
Jada Andrews-Sullivan, Dist. 2 | Rebecca Viagran, Dist. 3
Ana Sandoval, Dist. 7 | Clayton Perry, Dist. 10

* Other members of City Council may attend to observe, but not vote, on matters before the Committee.