AN ORDINANCE 2014 - 06 - 19 - 0458

DESIGNATING THE CHIEF OF POLICE AS THE AUTHORIZED OFFICIAL AND PROVIDING SPECIFIC REQUIRED LANGUAGE IN CONNECTION WITH THE ACCEPTANCE OF GRANT FUNDS FROM THE OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR, CRIMINAL JUSTICE DIVISION, TO SUPPORT THE CURE VIOLENCE PROJECT.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 2014-05-15-0334 authorized the acceptance of grant funds from the Office of the Governor, Criminal Justice Division (CJD), to support the Cure Violence Project for the period March 1, 2014, to September 30, 2015; and

WHEREAS, it is necessary to amend Ordinance No. 2014-05-15-0334 to include specific language required by the Texas Administrative Code; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. Ordinance No. 2014-05-15-0334 is hereby amended to include the provisions set out below.

SECTION 6. In the event of loss or misuse of the CJD funds, the grant funds shall be returned to the CJD in full.

SECTION 7. The Chief of Police is hereby designated as the grantee's authorized official.

SECTION 8. The authorized official is hereby given the power to apply for, accept, reject, alter, or terminate the grant on behalf of the applicant agency.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 19th day of June, 2014

AYOI

Julián Castro

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Robert F. Greenblum, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	19 (in consent vote: 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 24, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 35, 36, 37, 38A, 38B, 39A, 39B, 40A, 40B, 40C)						
Date:	06/19/2014						
Time:	10:29:56 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance designating the Chief of Police as the authorized official and providing specific required language in connection with the acceptance of grant funds from the Office of the Governor, Criminal Justice Division, to support the Cure Violence Project. [Erik Walsh, Deputy City Manager; William McManus, Chief of Police]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Julián Castro	Mayor		х				
Diego Bernal	District 1		х				
Ivy R. Taylor	District 2		х				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		х				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		х				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		х				
Ray Lopez	District 6		х				х
Cris Medina	District 7		х				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		х			х	
Joe Krier	District 9		х				
Michael Gallagher	District 10		х				