

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 14-2511

Agenda Item Number: 3.

Agenda Date: 10/15/2014

In Control: Infrastructure and Growth Committee

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: City Wide

SUBJECT:

Consideration of Applicants to the Planning Commission (5 slots)

SUMMARY:

The Infrastructure and Growth City Council Committee will review and recommend five (5) applicants to the full Council for appointment to the Planning Commission. A total of 15 applications were received for the five seat need appointments. Three of the five applicants are eligible for reappointment. The following is a list of the 15 applications:

First Name	MI	Last Name	District	New or Reappt.	Employer
Kevin	W.	Love	9	Reappt	KLove Engineering, LLC.
George	W.	Peck	7	Reappt	Civil Engineering Consultants
Andrea		Rodriguez	1	Reappt	San Antonio Independant School District
Bethany		Babcock	9	New	Self Employed
Bradley		Carson	2	New	Kruger Carson PLLC
Walter	A	Gresham	8	New	Self Employed
Edward	<i>A</i> .	Kaufman, III	9	New	Self
Karen	K.	Kirby	9	New	Self
Robert	W.	Lyons	9	New	Los Leones
George		McNair	10	New	
Jerry	L.	Morrisey	9	New	Self employed consultant
Donald		Oroian	9	New	ADA Consulting Group, Inc.
Brian	K.	Otto	9	New	Meritage Homes
Micah	S.	Salinas	2	New	Frost
Aaron	J.	Seaman	9	New	SWBC

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

The Planning Commission is comprised of 11 members. The members are elected on an at-large basis and do not necessarily represent a unique City Council District. The members appointed to the Planning Commission are appointed in staggered two-year terms. There are no term-limits. For these five seats, the term is October 6, 2014 to October 6, 2016. The remaining six seats will be considered next year for a term of October 6, 2015 through October 6, 2017. Of the five seats, only three current members submitted an application for reappointment. Roberto Rodriguez, a current Planning Commission member, did not submit an application for reappointment leaving his seat vacant as of October 6, 2014. Zachary Harris resigned from the Planning Commission on July 17, 2014 leaving his seat vacant.

Attached to this memo is the current Planning Commission roster detailing the current Planning Commission members

The Planning Commission advises the City Council on the Master Plan for the physical development of San Antonio. The Commission also provides recommendations on capital improvements, and administers regulations on subdivisions and platting, to include the Extra-Territorial Jurisdiction.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval. Staff (Planning Director and Development Services Director) recommends approval of the three (3) reappointments for continuity purposes and that the Infrastructure and Growth Committee interview applicants for the two (2) remaining slots.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends the Infrastructure and Growth Committee selects five nominees from the 15 applicants for appointment to the Planning Commission and forward the five applicant recommendations to the full City Council for approval on October 30, 2014.