A RESOLUTION 2015 - 04 - 02 - 0021R

IN SUPPORT OF A FIVE YEAR FREEZE OF STORM WATER UTILITY FEES FOR INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICTS IN SAN ANTONIO.

WHEREAS, presently, Texas Local Government Code, Chapter 552, Subchapter C (Municipal Drainage Utility Systems Act) and Chapter 580 leaves the decision on whether or not to exempt properties owned by school districts from storm water utility fees to local officials; and

WHEREAS, the City is in the process of restructuring the storm water utility rate structure to a fee based on impervious area and school districts often have properties with large amounts of impervious area; and

WHEREAS, City staff will be proposing, as part of the rate restructure, a five-year storm water fee rate schedule which will include a freeze for school district properties; NOW THERFORE:

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. City Council supports a five-year freeze for school district properties as part of the rate restructure to impervious area which will be formally considered at a later date.

SECTION 2. City staff is directed to bring forward a proposed five-year storm water fee freeze for school districts as part of the rate restructure to impervious area.

SECTION 3. This Resolution is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED THIS 2nd day of April, 2015.

Ivy R. Taylor

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Acting City Attorney

Agenda Item:	4B						
Date:	04/02/2015						
Time:	11:13:30 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	A Resolution stating the City's position on Storm Water Fees relating to School Districts.						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		х				
Roberto C. Trevino	District 1		x				
Alan Warrick	District 2		х				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		х				x
Rey Saldaña	District 4		х			х	
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		х	_	-		
Ray Lopez	District 6		х				
Cris Medina	District 7		х				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		x				
Joe Krier	District 9		х				
Michael Gallagher	District 10		х				