. 10

AN ORDINANCE 2015 - 08 - 13 - 0697

AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT FIRE CAPTAIN WILLIAM BOCHAT.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Captain William Bochat was injured in the line of duty on May 8, 2001, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Captain Bochat is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period May 26, 2002, to July 31, 2002; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 528 hours of accrued leave to Captain Bochat; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Captain Bochat line-of-duty injury leave for the period May 26, 2002, to July 31, 2002, is hereby approved.

CHW 08/13/15 Item No. 18

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 13th day of August, 2015.

Jug R. Chifes Μ

Ivy R. Taylor

ATTEST:

icia M. Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Acting City Attorney G. Sepeda.

Agenda Item:	18 (in consent vote: 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21)						
Date:	08/13/2015						
Time:	01:41:04 PM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance authorizing the extension of line-of-duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Fire Captain William Bochat. [Erik J. Walsh, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		x				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		x				x
Alan Warrick	District 2		x				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		x				
Ray Lopez	District 6		x				
Cris Medina	District 7		x			x	
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		x				
Joe Krier	District 9		x				
Michael Gallagher	District 10		x				