AN ORDINANCE 2015-09-10-0774

AUTHORIZING A THREE-YEAR COOPERATIVE AGREEMENT (FEDERAL REIMBURSEMENT GRANT) WITH THE TRANSPORTATION SECURITY ADMINISTRATION AND ACCEPTING GRANT FUNDS IN AN AMOUNT UP TO \$353,796.00 ANNUALLY FOR POSTING OF LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS AT EACH SAN ANTONIO INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT TERMINAL CHECKPOINT.

* * * * * *

WHEREAS, pursuant to the three year cooperative agreement (federal reimbursement grant) effective February 1, 2016, with the Transportation Security Administration (TSA), the City will continue providing law enforcement officer support to each TSA Passenger Security screening checkpoint at San Antonio International Airport while in operation, and TSA will reimburse the City for the salaries and benefits of the officers posted to the checkpoints in an amount up to \$353,796.00; and

WHEREAS, it is in best interest of the City to enter into the new three year cooperative agreement with TSA which was accepted by the TSA through a grant application and award process; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. The City Manager, or her designee, or the Aviation Director is hereby authorized to submit to the TSA a three-year federal cooperative agreement (federal reimbursement grant) in an annual amount of up to \$353,796.00 for posting of law enforcement officers at each San Antonio International Airport Terminal Checkpoint.

SECTION 2. The City Manager, or her designee, or the Aviation Director is further authorized to execute any and all necessary documents to effectuate said agreement and effectuate acceptance of funds. All steps previously taken by City staff to ensure timely submission of required documents to TSA are hereby ratified.

SECTION 3. The City Manager, or her designee, or the Aviation Director is further authorized to accept up to \$353,796.00 annually from the Transportation Security Administration (TSA), to provide funding for posting a Law Enforcement Officer at each San Antonio International Airport terminal checkpoint.

SECTION 4. Fund 2606533009 entitled "Airport Checkpoint Grant 2012" is hereby designated for use in the accounting for the fiscal transaction in the acceptance of this grant. A formal budget will include Internal Order numbers and General Ledger numbers will be submitted by the department upon award.

KRH 9/10/15 Item No. 16B

SECTION 5. The financial allocations in this Ordinance are subject to approval by the Director of Finance, City of San Antonio. The Director of Finance may, subject to concurrence by the City Manager or the City Manager's designee, correct allocations to specific SAP Fund Numbers, SAP Project Definitions, SAP WBS Elements, SAP Internal Orders, SAP Fund Centers, SAP Cost Centers, SAP Functional Areas, SAP Funds Reservation Document Numbers, and SAP GL Accounts as necessary to carry out the purpose of this Ordinance.

SECTION 6. This Ordinance shall be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED and APPROVED this 10th day of September, 2015.

M A Y O R

Ivy R. Taylor

ATTEST:

Leticia M. Vacel City Clerk

City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Martha G. Sepeda

Acting City Attorney

| Agenda Item: | 16B (in consent vote: 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16A, 16B, 18, 19, 20) |
|--------------|---|
| Date: | 09/10/2015 |
| Time: | 11:25:20 AM |
| Vote Type: | Motion to Approve |
| Description: | An Ordinance authorizing a new three-year cooperative agreement with the Tranportation Security Administration for continued law enforcement officer support at terminal checkpoints at San Antonio International Airport commencing on February 1, 2016. |
| Result: | Passed |

| Voter | Group | Not Present | Yea | Nay | Abstain | Motion | Second |
|--------------------|-------------|----------------|-----|-----|---------|--------|--------|
| Ivy R. Taylor | Mayor | | х | | | | |
| Roberto C. Treviño | District 1 | | х | | | | |
| Alan Warrick | District 2 | | х | | | | |
| Rebecca Viagran | District 3 | | х | | | | |
| Rey Saldaña | District 4 | | х | | | | |
| Shirley Gonzales | District 5 | | х | | | | |
| Ray Lopez | District 6 | | х | | | | |
| Cris Medina | District 7 | | х | | | | |
| Ron Nirenberg | District 8 | | х | | | | |
| Joe Krier | District 9 | | х | | | | х |
| Michael Gallagher | District 10 | | х | | | x | |