# AN ORDINANCE 2015 - 10 - 29 - 0928

## AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT ENGINEER MARTIN CONNER.

#### \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \*

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

**WHEREAS**, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Engineer Martin Conner was injured in the line of duty on October 1, 2013, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Engineer Conner is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period October 1, 2014, to December 3, 2014; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 384 hours of accrued leave to Engineer Conner; NOW THEREFORE:

## BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

**SECTION 1**. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Engineer Martin Conner's line-of-duty injury leave for the period October 1, 2014, to December 3, 2014, is hereby approved.

CHW 10/29/15 Item No. 21

**SECTION 2.** This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 29th day of October, 2015.

Jug R. Jaylon R

M A Y O Ivy R. Taylor

ATTEST:

cia M. Vace City Clerk

### **APPROVED AS TO FORM:**

ity Attorney

Agenda Item:	21 (in consent vote: 5, 6, 7, 8, 9A, 10, 12A, 12B, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25A, 25B)						
Date:	10/29/2015						
Time:	10:27:24 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An ordinance authorizing the extension of line-of-duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Engineer Martin Conner. [Erik J. Walsh, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		x				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		x				x
Alan Warrick	District 2		x			x	
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5	х					
Ray Lopez	District 6	х					
Cris Medina	District 7		x				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		x				
Joe Krier	District 9		x				
Michael Gallagher	District 10		x				