A RESOLUTION 2015 - 10 - 22 - 0058R

AUTHORIZING THE CREATION OF "SAFE EXCHANGE ZONES" AT SAN ANTONIO POLICE DEPARTMENT SUBSTATIONS TO HELP CITIZENS SAFELY BROKER TRANSACTIONS WITH STRANGERS

* * * * *

WHEREAS, with the rising popularity of internet commerce, individuals are often put in a position of selling or purchasing items from strangers; and

WHEREAS, the vast majority of these exchanges are legitimate and safe, some individuals have used online exchange websites and mobile applications to victimize potential buyers and sellers; and

WHEREAS, the San Antonio Police Department has six substations across the City, open 24 hours, 7 days a week, and the parking lot and lobby of each substation are covered by video surveillance; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. The City Council hereby directs the San Antonio Police Department to create and publicize "Safe Exchange Zones" at the six substations, such as the parking lots and lobbies, which are covered by video surveillance, for the commercial exchange of goods and money.

SECTION 2. There shall be no fee for the use of and no appropriation for the establishment of these Safe Exchange Zones.

SECTION 3. This resolution shall take effect immediately upon passage by eight affirmative votes, otherwise it shall be effective the tenth day after passage.

PASSED and APPROVED this 22th day of October, 2015.

Y

M A Y O Ivy R. Taylor

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

City Attorney

| Agenda Item: | 14 | | | | | | |
|--------------------|---|----------------|-----|-----|--|--------|--------|
| Date: | 10/22/2015 | | | | | | |
| Time: | 09:42:37 AM | | | | | | |
| Vote Type: | Motion to Approve | | | | | | |
| Description: | A Resolution authorizing the creation of Safe Exchange Zones at San Antonio Police Department Substations to help citizens safely broker transactions with strangers. [Erik Walsh, Deputy City Manager; William McManus, Chief of Police] | | | | | | |
| Result: | Passed | | | | | | |
| Voter | Group | Not Present | Yea | Nay | Abstain | Motion | Second |
| Ivy R. Taylor | Mayor | | x | | | | |
| Roberto C. Treviño | District 1 | | x | | | | х |
| Alan Warrick | District 2 | х | | | | | |
| Rebecca Viagran | District 3 | | x | | | | |
| Rey Saldaña | District 4 | | x | | | | |
| Shirley Gonzales | District 5 | | x | | | | |
| Ray Lopez | District 6 | | x | | | | |
| Cris Medina | District 7 | | x | | ************************************** | | |
| Ron Nirenberg | District 8 | | X · | | - <u></u> | | |
| Joe Krier | District 9 | | x | | | | |
| Michael Gallagher | District 10 | | x | | | x | |

-