ARESOLUTION 2016 - 02-11-0007R

RECOGNIZING THE DEDICATED EFFORTS OF REPRESENTATIVE RUTH JONES MCCLENDON IN SUPPORT OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO.

WHEREAS, Representative Ruth Jones McClendon has served District 120 in the State Legislature for 10 legislative sessions, beginning in 1996 and ending with her recent retirement in 2016; and

WHEREAS, among her many legislative accomplishments, Representative McClendon introduced legislation creating the "Innocence Commission," improving mental health treatment for individuals in Texas jails, funding Haven for Hope and other homeless facilities, protecting Camp Bullis from development that might hinder its mission, and strengthening transportation infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, Representative McClendon began her public service career in 1993 as a San Antonio City Councilmember from District 2, where she served until her election to the State Legislature; and

WHEREAS, City Council wishes to recognize Representative McClendon for her tireless efforts in support of the community; NOW THERFORE:

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. City Council wishes to recognize Representative Ruth Jones McClendon for her legislative efforts on behalf of the City of San Antonio and to thank her for her years of dedication and support.

SECTION 2. This Resolution is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED THIS 11th day of February, 2016.

Ivy R. Taylor

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Martha G. Sepeda

Acting City Attorney

Agenda Item:	33						
Date:	02/11/2016						
Time:	09:39:38 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	A Resolution recognizing and celebrating the devoted service and community leadership of State Representative Ruth Jones McClendon, District 120. [Carlos Contreras, Assistant City Manager; Jeff Coyle, Director, Government and Public Affairs]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		х				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		x				
Alan Warrick	District 2		х				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		х				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		х				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5	х					
Ray Lopez	District 6		х				
Cris Medina	District 7		х				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		х				
Joe Krier	District 9		x			х	
Michael Gallagher	District 10		х				X