A RESOLUTION 2016 - 02 - 11 - 0008R

RECOGNIZING THE DEDICATED EFFORTS OF REPRESENTATIVE JOE FARIAS IN SUPPORT OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO.

WHEREAS, Representative Joe Farias has served District 118 in the State Legislature for five legislative sessions from 2007-2015; and

WHEREAS, among his many efforts, Representative Farias introduced legislation to protect citizens against predatory payday lending, increase the number of Texas children that qualify for the CHIP Program, expand education benefits offered to veterans, reduce juvenile crime, and recognize Texas A&M University-San Antonio as a stand alone campus; and

WHEREAS, Representative Farias has served the citizens of San Antonio for decades, both as a legislator and as a community volunteer; and

WHEREAS, City Council wishes to recognize Representative Farias for his dedication and service; **NOW THEREFORE**:

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. City Council wishes to recognize Representative Joe Farias for his legislative efforts on behalf of the City of San Antonio and to thank him for his dedication and support.

SECTION 2. This Resolution is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED THIS 11th day of February, 2016.

Ivy R. Taylor

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Acting City Attorney

Agenda Item:	34						
Date:	02/11/2016						
Time:	09:57:34 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	A Resolution recognizing and celebrating the devoted service and community leadership of State Representative Joe Farias, District 118. [Carlos Contreras, Assistant City Manager; Jeff Coyle, Director, Government & Public Affairs]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		х				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		х				
Alan Warrick	District 2		х				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		х				х
Rey Saldaña	District 4		х				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5	x				,	
Ray Lopez	District 6		x				
Cris Medina	District 7		х				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		х				
Joe Krier	District 9		х	,		х	
Michael Gallagher	District 10		х				