AN ORDINANCE 2016-02-11-0089

AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT FIRE CAPTAIN GEORGIA RAKOWITZ.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Fire Captain Georgia Rakowitz was injured in the line of duty on April 2, 2005, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Captain Rakowitz is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period January 19, 2015, to May 25, 2015; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 752 hours of accrued leave to Captain Rakowitz; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Captain Georgia Rakowitz line-of-duty injury leave for the period January 19, 2015, to May 25, 2015, is hereby approved.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 11th day of February, 2016.

M A Y O R

Ivy R. Taylor

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Agenda Item:	28 (in consent vote: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9A, 9B, 10A, 10B, 11, 12, 13A, 13B, 14A, 14B, 14C, 15, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 32)						
Date:	02/11/2016						
Time:	09:19:59 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance authorizing the extension of line-of-duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Fire Captain Georgia Rakowitz. [Erik J. Walsh, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		х				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		x				
Alan Warrick	District 2		x				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		х		R.	·	
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5	х					
Ray Lopez	District 6		х				х
Cris Medina	District 7		х			x	
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		х				
Joe Krier	District 9		х				
Michael Gallagher	District 10		x				