## AN ORDINANCE 2016-02-18-0112

AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT FIRE ENGINEER RUDOLPH MAZON.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \*

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Rudolph Mazon was injured in the line of duty on September 20, 2013, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Engineer Mazon is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period September 21, 2014, to August 18, 2015; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 2664 hours of accrued leave to Engineer Mazon; NOW THEREFORE:

## BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

**SECTION 1.** An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Engineer Rudolph Mazon line-of-duty injury leave for the period September 21, 2014, to August 18, 2015, is hereby approved.

**SECTION 2.** This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 18th day of February, 2016.

M A Y O R
Ivy R. Taylor

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Agenda Item:	27 (in consent vote: 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26, 27, 28, 30A, 30C, 30D, 30E, 30F)						
Date:	02/18/2016						
Time:	10:40:05 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance authorizing the extension of line-of-duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Rudolph Mazon. [Erik J. Walsh, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		x				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		х				x
Alan Warrick	District 2		x			x	
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		х		-		
Rey Saldaña	District 4		х				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5	х					
Ray Lopez	District 6		х				
Cris Medina	District 7		х				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		x				
Joe Krier	District 9		х				
Michael Gallagher	District 10		х				