AN ORDINANCE 2016-03-31-0229

APPROVING APPOINTMENTS TO THE WSA BOARD OF DIRECTORS AS RECOMMENDED BY THE COMMITTEE OF SIX ON FEBRUARY 24. 2016 FOR SUBMISSION TO THE TEXAS WORKFORCE COMMISSION.

WHEREAS, on February 24, 2016, the Committee of Six reviewed applications, conducted interviews and recommended that the individuals set out below serve on the WSA Board of Directors; **NOW THEREFORE**:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. The following appointments to the Workforce Solutions Alamo Board of Directors in the designated categories are hereby approved:

New Appointments:

Eric Cooper, Place 14, CBO, for a term beginning March 1, 2016 and ending December 31, 2018

Douglas Smolka, Place 21, Labor, for a term beginning January 1, 2016 and ending December 31, 2018

New Appointments for future vacancies of those removed or who resign:

Geronimo Guerra, Labor Betty Munoz, Business

SECTION 2. This Ordinance shall be effective immediately upon receipt of at least eight affirmative votes, or upon receiving fewer, on the tenth day after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 31st day of March, 2016.

Ivy R. Taylor

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Acting City Attorney

Agenda Item:	20 (in consent vote: 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24)						
Date:	03/31/2016						
Time:	09:12:22 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance approving the appointments to the Workforce Solutions Alamo Board of Directors as recommended by the Committee of Six on February 24, 2016 for submission to the Texas Workforce Commission. [Carlos Contreras, Assistant City Manager; Rene Dominguez, Director, Economic Development]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		х				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		X				
Alan Warrick	District 2		х				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		х				х
Rey Saldaña	District 4		х		-		
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		х		<u> </u>		
Ray Lopez	District 6	-	х				
Cris Medina	District 7		x		-, .		
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		х				
Joe Krier	District 9		х				
Michael Gallagher	District 10		Х		-	x	