## AN ORDINANCE 2016-04-14-0284

## **REAPPOINTING NINE FULL-TIME MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGES FOR A TERM EFFECTIVE MAY 1, 2016 TO APRIL 30, 2018; AND ESTABLISHING JUDICIAL SALARIES AND BENEFITS.**

\* \* \* \* \*

WHEREAS, there are currently nine full-time Municipal Court Judges, appointed by the City Council, with terms due to expire on April 30, 2016; and

WHEREAS, on March 31, 2016, the subcommittee of the Criminal Justice, Public Safety and Services Committee met to interview the nine current full-time Municipal Court Judges, and, after finding that each Judge continues to meet the qualifications to serve, voted to recommend their reappointment to the full committee, which voted on April 6, 2016 to bring the recommendation forward for full Council consideration; and

WHEREAS, after review and consideration of the qualifications and performance of each of the full-time Municipal Court Judges, the City Council finds that it is in the best interests of the City to reappoint the Judges; NOW THEREFORE:

## **BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:**

**SECTION 1**. The following persons are reappointed to serve as full-time Municipal Court Judges for the City of San Antonio Municipal Court effective May 1, 2016 through April 30, 2018:

Clarissa Chavarria Linda H. Conley Lisa M. Gonzales Daniel Guerrero James Daniel Kassahn Christine Dauphin Lacy Carla Obledo Margarita S. Pol Peter Andrew Zamora

**SECTION 2.** The full-time Judges shall continue to receive their current salary of \$103,315.42, which was included in the FY 2016 budget. Life insurance and health and retirement benefits currently extended to city employees are extended to the full-time judges.

**SECTION 3.** This ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after passage.

**PASSED AND APPROVED** this 14<sup>th</sup> day of April 2016.

Ivy R. Taylor

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Martha G. Sepeda, Acting City Attorney



Agenda Item:	18						
Date:	04/14/2016						
Time:	09:43:03 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance reappointing nine full-time municipal court judges to a new two-year term. [John W. Bull, Presiding Judge]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		x				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		x				
Alan Warrick	District 2		x				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x	T		x	
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		x				x
Ray Lopez	District 6		x				
Cris Medina	District 7		x				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		x				
Joe Krier	District 9		x		<u> </u>		
Michael Gallagher	District 10		x				

•