AUTHORIZING THE ACCEPTANCE OF THE FY 2016 DIGITAL INCLUSION FELLOWSHIP AWARD IN THE AMOUNT OF \$59,836.00 FOR THE PERIOD OF JULY 18, 2016 TO JULY 17, 2017 GRANTED BY THE NONPROFIT TECHNOLOGY NETWORK.

* * * * *

WHEREAS, the San Antonio Public Library provides several educational and learning opportunities in the community through the 28 library locations; and

WHEREAS, digital literacy is included in the complement of educational and learning opportunities offered through the Library; and

WHEREAS, in FY 2015, through the a partnership with AmeriCorps Vista program, an AmeriCorps Vista Volunteer was assigned to the Library and created a digital literacy curriculum as well as helped the Library pilot computer classes taught by volunteers at the Central Library and Las Palmas Branch (District 5); and

WHEREAS, the program consisted of two computer classes a week at each facility and attendance reached 248 for the year; and

WHEREAS, the computer classes were a success and the Library is exploring opportunities to enhance the computer class offering and expand class offering to more library locations in FY 2016 and 2017: and

WHEREAS, the Digital Inclusion Fellowship Award provides the needed support, by way of personnel, to the Library to achieve the goal to expand the computer classes available through the Library to the community; and

WHEREAS, this fellowship also leverages the Library's current engagement with the AmeriCorps Vista program; and

WHEREAS, national research shows that 34% of people who are not online do not see the web as relevant to their lives; and

WHEREAS, while another 32% say they do not go online because they find it difficult to use a computer or navigate the internet; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. The City Manager or her designee, or the Director of the San Antonio Public Library Department or his designee is hereby authorized to accept grant funds in an amount up to \$59,836.00 from the Nonprofit Technology Network for one temporary staff position to provide services for the period of July 18, 2016 through July 17, 2017.

SW/vv 05/12/16 Item #18

SECTION 2. The City Manager or her designee, or the Director of the San Antonio Public Library Department or his designee is further authorized to execute any and all necessary documents to effectuate said grant acceptance.

SECTION 3. The amount of \$59,836.00 shall be appropriated in SAP Fund 29804000, Internal Order 804000000XXX per the table below:

Amount	General
	Ledger
-\$59,836.00	4502220
\$35,000.00	5101010
\$2,678.00	5103005
\$35.00	5103010
\$3,665.00	5105010
\$7,234.00	5170040
\$1,224.00	5170100
\$10,000.00	5202020

SECTION 4. This grant will provide a personnel complement of one (1) temporary position.

SECTION 5. The financial allocations in this Ordinance are subject to approval by the Director of Finance, City of San Antonio. The Director of Finance may, subject to concurrence by the City Manager or the City Manager's designee, correct allocations to specific SAP Fund Numbers, SAP Project Definitions, SAP WBS Elements, SAP Internal Orders, SAP Fund Centers, SAP Cost Centers, SAP Functional Areas, SAP Funds Reservation Document Numbers, and SAP GL Accounts as necessary to carry out the purpose of this Ordinance.

SECTION 6. This ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 12th, day of May, 2016.

Μ

Ivy R. Taylor

APPROVED AS TO FORM: Sepeda

Agenda Item:	18 (in consent vote: 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19)								
Date:	05/12/2016								
Time:	09:26:39 AM								
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve								
Description:	An Ordinance authorizing the acceptance of the FY 2016 Digital Inclusion Fellowship award in the amount of \$59,836.00 for the period of July 18, 2016 to July 17, 2017 granted by Nonprofit Technology Network to increase digital literacy. [Maria Villagomez, Assistant City Manager; Ramiro Salazar, Director, San Antonio Public Library]								
Result:	Passed								
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second		
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		x						
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		x				x		
Alan Warrick	District 2		x			x			
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x						
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x						
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		x						
Ray Lopez	District 6		x						
Cris Medina	District 7	Х							
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		x						
Joe Krier	District 9		x						
Michael Gallagher	District 10		x						

)

J

L

.