# CITY OF SAN ANTONIO OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK GOVERNANCE CITY COUNCIL COMMITTEE

TO: Mayor Ivy R. Taylor

Councilmember Rebecca J. Viagran Councilmember Ron Nirenberg Councilmember Joe Krier Councilmember Mike Gallagher

FROM: Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk, TRMC/CMC/MMC

SUBJECT: Consideration of Applicants to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority Union

Representative Category (1 slot)

DATE: June 15, 2016

#### **SUMMARY:**

The Governance City Council Committee will review and recommend one (1) candidate to the full Council for appointment to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority.

The following applications were submitted:

First	MI	Last	New/Reappt	District	Employer
					Retired - San Antonio Alliance of
Robert	L.	Comeaux	New	1	Teachers & Support Personnel
Gloria		Parra	New	3	VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority
Theresa		Ramos	New	6	United Way

### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

VIA manages and operates the Metropolitan Transit Authority within Bexar County, Texas. VIA is governed by a Board of Trustees with eleven appointees, five (5) of which are appointed by the San Antonio City Council. Board members are appointed to staggered two-year terms and may serve up to four terms. There is currently one (1) Union Representative slot available for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire December 31, 2017. The San Antonio AFL-CIO Central Labor Council recommended Robert Comeaux, Gloria Parra, and Theresa Ramos for consideration for appointment.

#### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

#### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.

Governance City Council Committee Board Appointment Recommendations June 15, 2016 Page 2

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

The Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Council Committee's decision and that same be submitted to the full City Council for consideration at the Meeting on June 30, 2016.