A RESOLUTION

20 16 - 06 - 30 - 00 22 R

REAPPOINTING HERIBERTO "BERTO" GUERRA, JR. AS CHAIRMAN OF THE SAWS BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR A TERM TO EXPIRE MAY 31, 2017; REAPPOINTING PATRICIA JASSO REPRESENTING THE SOUTH ZONE FOR A TERM OF OFFICE TO EXPIRE MAY 31, 2020.

WHEREAS, pursuant to Ordinance No. 75686 dated April 30, 1992, the San Antonio Water System ("SAWS" or "System") is subject to bond covenants related to the management of the System, including the requirement that nominees for vacancies on the SAWS Board of Trustees be approved by a majority vote of the San Antonio City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 75686 also grants the Mayor of San Antonio the authority to appoint the Chair of the SAWS Board of Trustees with the concurrence of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor has recommended the reappointment of Mr. Heriberto "Berto" Guerra, Jr. as Chairman of the SAWS Board of Trustees; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Ordinance No. 87010 dated November 20, 1997, the six members of the SAWS Board of Trustees, other than the Mayor who serves as an ex-officio trustee, are each appointed as a representative of a City Quadrant, or the North or South Zone of the City; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor has recommended to the City Council the reappointment and re-designation of Patricia Jasso representing the South Zone for the term of office to expire May 31, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Patricia Jasso is qualified to serve on the SAWS Board of Trustees; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. The reappointment of Mr. Heriberto "Berto" Guerra, Jr. as Chairman of the SAWS Board of Trustees is confirmed for a term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

SECTION 2. The reappointment of Patricia Jasso to the SAWS Board of Trustee is confirmed as the trustee representative for the South Zone for a term of office to expire May 31, 2020.

SECTION 3. This Resolution becomes effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, on the tenth day after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED, this 30th day of June, 2016.

A

D T 1

Ivv R. Taylor

ATTEST:

Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Martha G. Sepeda, Acting City Attorney

| Agenda Item: | 25 (in consent vote: 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12A, 12B, 13, 15, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39A, 39B) | | | | | | |
|--------------------|---|----------------|-----|-------|---------|--------|---------|
| Date: | 06/30/2016 | | | | | | |
| Time: | 09:25:19 AM | | | | | | |
| Vote Type: | Motion to Approve | | | | | | |
| Description: | A Resolution reappointing individuals to each of the following positions on the San Antonio Water System Board of Trustees: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk] A) Reappointing Patricia Jasso (South Sector) for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2020. B) Reappointing Heriberto Guerra, Jr. as Chairman of the Board for a term to expire May 31, 2017. | | | | | | |
| Result: | Passed | | | | | | |
| Voter | Group | Not Present | Yea | Nay | Abstain | Motion | Second |
| Ivy R. Taylor | Mayor | | X | | | | |
| Roberto C. Treviño | District 1 | | х | 10000 | | | x |
| Alan Warrick | District 2 | | x | | | | |
| Rebecca Viagran | District 3 | | х | | | | |
| Rey Saldaña | District 4 | | X | | | | |
| Shirley Gonzales | District 5 | | x | 10.00 | | | |
| Ray Lopez | District 6 | | x | 9 | | | 1000 |
| Cris Medina | District 7 | | X | | | | |
| Ron Nirenberg | District 8 | | x | | | | |
| Joe Krier | District 9 | | x | | | x | |
| Michael Gallagher | District 10 | | х | | | | E 1 (e) |