## A RESOLUTION 2016-06-30-00231

## REQUESTING THE NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES TO HOLD ITS 2019 CITY SUMMIT IN SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

WHEREAS, the National League of Cities ("NLC") is the association representing the interests of municipalities in Washington, D.C. and the City Summit, the annual convention of the NLC, is the largest national event for municipal officials and includes educational sessions and meetings to conduct institutional business; and

**WHEREAS,** City staff have submitted a full bid proposal for the 2019 City Summit for the dates of November 18-25, 2019, as the four-day convention offers an exciting opportunity to host municipal officials and local government experts from across the country to showcase the City of San Antonio; **NOW THEREFORE:** 

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

**SECTION 1.** City Council requests that the National League of Cities conduct its 2019 City Summit in San Antonio, Texas.

**SECTION 2.** This Resolution is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED THIS 30<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2016.

M A Y O I

ATTEST:

Leticia M. Vacek

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Martha G. Sepeda Acting City Attorney

Agenda Item:	29 (in consent vote: 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12A, 12B, 13, 15, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39A, 39B)						
Date:	06/30/2016						
Time:	09:25:19 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	A Resolution requesting The National League of Cities to hold its 2019 City Summit in San Antonio, Texas. [Lori Houston, Assistant City Manager; Casandra Matej, Executive Director, Convention & Visitors Bureau.]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		X				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		X				X
Alan Warrick	District 2		X				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		X				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		X		6		
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		X				
Ray Lopez	District 6		X				
Cris Medina	District 7		X				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		X				
Joe Krier	District 9		X		_	X	
Michael Gallagher	District 10		X				wi.