

## CITY OF SAN ANTONIO OFFICE OF THE CITIY COUNCIL COUNCIL CONSIDERATION REQUEST

TO:

Mayor and City Council

FROM:

Councilman Roberto C. Treviño, District 1; Councilman Mike Gallagher,

District 10

COPIES TO:

Sheryl Sculley, City Manager; Leticia Vacek, City Clerk; Martha G. Sepeda,

Acting City Attorney; John Peterek, Assistant to the City Manager; Christopher

Callanen, Assistant to City Council

SUBJECT:

A Memorial Recognizing San Antonio Area Recipients of the Texas Legislative

Medal of Honor

DATE:

20th April 2016

## Issue Proposed for Consideration

We ask for your support for the inclusion of the following item on the agenda of the earliest available meeting of the Governance Committee:

A directive to City staff to fund and establish a memorial, for recipients of the Texas Legislative Medal of Honor with ties to San Antonio, near but distinct from the existing Medal of Honor River Portal on the River Walk, within the vicinity of the Veterans Memorial Plaza.

## **Brief Background**

The Texas Legislative Medal of Honor is the highest military decoration awarded by the State of Texas, and is awarded only to members of the state and federal military forces "on the standard of extraordinary merit." The Texas Government Code relates that the honor shall be conferred by the Texas Legislature upon a member who "voluntarily performs a deed of personal bravery or self-sacrifice involving risk of life that is so conspicuous as to clearly distinguish the service member for gallantry and intrepidity above the service member's comrades."

San Antonio has a rich history and deep connection with the Armed Forces, and several of the twelve recipients of the Texas Legislative Medal of Honor to date share part of that history. We recipients of that a memorial be established to honor these and future recipients of our state's nighest military honor with a connection to our City.

CITY OF SAN ARCINEL



## CITY OF SAN ANTONIO OFFICE OF THE CITTY COUNCIL COUNCIL CONSIDERATION REQUEST

Submitted for Council consideration by:	THAT
	Councilman Roberto C. Treviño, District 1
	Councilman Mike Gallagher, District 10
Supporting Councilmembers' Signatures (3 only)	District
1.	
2. Daney	
3. Joe Brie	9
OHO SE	
PA SEE SEE SEE SEE SEE SEE SEE SEE SEE SE	
R 28	
IS APR 28	