CHW 09/15/16 Item No. 8

## AN ORDINANCE 2016-09-15-0706

AUTHORIZING THE SUBMISSION OF AN APPLICATION TO THE TEXAS 1033 SURPLUS PROPERTY PROGRAM TO ENABLE THE SAN ANTONIO POLICE DEPARTMENT TO RECEIVE PROPERTY DISPERSED TO LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES BY THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \*

WHEREAS, Section 1033 of the National Defense Authorization Act permits the Secretary of Defense to transfer to state and local law enforcement agencies personal property of the Department of Defense which the secretary determines is suitable for use by law enforcement officers; and

**WHEREAS**, the Texas Army National Guard administers the program, the Texas 1033 Surplus Property Program, that implements the authority granted to the secretary in Texas; and

WHEREAS, it is necessary to submit an application to that agency in order to participate in the program; NOW THEREFORE:

## BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

**SECTION 1.** The City Manager and her designee are hereby authorized to submit an application to the Texas 1033 Surplus Property Program to enable the San Antonio Police Department to receive property dispersed to law enforcement agencies by the U.S. Department of Defense.

**SECTION 2.** This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

**PASSED AND APPROVED** this 15th day of September, 2016.

un R.c M

Ivy R. Taylor

ATTEST: Lettoia M. Vacek, City Cler

## **APPROVED AS TO FORM:**

1

Agenda Item:	8 (in consent vote: 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 7D, 8, 9, 10, 11A, 11B)						
Date:	09/15/2016						
Time:	09:26:46 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance authorizing the submission of an application to the Texas 1033 Surplus Property Program to enable the San Antonio Police Department to receive property dispersed to law enforcement agencies by the U.S. Department of Defense. [Erik J. Walsh, Deputy City Manager; William P. McManus, Chief of Police]						
Result:	Passed			-			
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		x				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		x				
Alan Warrick	District 2		x			x	
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		x				
Ray Lopez	District 6		х				х
Cris Medina	District 7		x				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		x				
Joe Krier	District 9		x				
Michael Gallagher	District 10		x				