AN ORDINANCE 2017 - 04 - 06 - 0206

APPOINTING ELAINE MENDOZA (MAYOR), RICHARD MIDDLETON (CITY COUNCIL DISTRICT 1), JOSUE "JOE" ROBLES (CITY COUNCIL DISTRICT 3), GLORIA RAMIREZ (CITY COUNCIL DISTRICT 5), AND FRANCES GUZMAN (CITY COUNCIL DISTRICT 7) TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO'S EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION MUNICIPAL DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION FOR TWO YEAR TERMS BEGINNING JUNE 1, 2017 AND ENDING MAY 31, 2019.

* * * * *

WHEREAS, Chapter 379A, Texas Local Government Code (the "Act") authorizes a municipality to create a municipal development corporation to develop and implement programs for early childhood development that prepare each child to enter school and make each child ready to learn after completing the program, that provide educational services to promote literacy, and that establish math, reading, and lifelong learning skills; and

WHEREAS, the City Council (the "City Council") of the City of San Antonio, Texas (the "City") authorized the creation of the San Antonio Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation (the "Corporation") for the purposes of developing early childhood literacy and educational programs in accordance with the Act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Act, the City called a sales tax election, held on November 6, 2012, for voter approval to levy a sales and use tax for the benefit of the Corporation; and

WHEREAS, the voters approved the imposition of a 1/8 cent sales tax, and the City Council has passed an ordinance adopting and imposing such tax on December 13, 2012; and

WHEREAS, the Act requires the City Council to appoint one director to the Board of Directors for the Corporation from each city council district that elects a member to the City Council, plus the Mayor; and

WHEREAS, in compliance with the Act's requirement that Board members terms be staggered so that as near as possible to one-half of the member's terms expire each year, members appointed from odd-numbered districts, as well as the Mayor's appointee, serve terms that begin and expire in odd-numbered years, and members appointed from even-numbered districts serve terms that begin and expire in even-numbered years; and

WHEREAS, City Council members for odd-numbered districts hereby make their appointments for Board members for the Corporation with terms beginning June 1, 2017 and ending May 31, 2019; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. Elaine Mendoza (Mayor), Richard Middleton (District 1), Josue "Joe" Robles (District 3), Gloria Ramirez (District 5), and Frances Guzman (District 7) are appointed to the Board of Directors for the City of San Antonio's Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation, for terms of office beginning on June 1, 2015 and expiring on May 31, 2017.

SECTION 2. This ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 6th day of April, 2017.

MAYOR

Ivy R. Taylor

ATTEST:

Letrcia M. Vacek, City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia City Attorney

Agenda Item:	14 (in consent vote: 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16)						
Date:	04/06/2017						
Time:	09:51:51 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance appointing Elaine Mendoza (Mayor's Appointee), Dr. Richard Middleton (Council District 1 Appointee), Major General Josue "Joe" Robles, Jr. (Council District 3 Appointee), Gloria Ramirez (Council District 5 Appointee) and Frances Guzman (Council District 7 Appointee) to the eleven-member Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors (City of San Antonio's Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation) as recommended by the Mayor and respective City Council Members for a two-year term from June 1, 2017 through May 31, 2019. [Peter Zanoni, Deputy City Manager; Sarah Baray, Ph.D., CEO, Pre-K 4 SA]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		х				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		х				Х
Alan Warrick	District 2		х			X	
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5	X					
Ray Lopez	District 6		X				
Cris Medina	District 7		X				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		X				
Joe Krier	District 9	X					
Michael Gallagher	District 10		x				