AN ORDINANCE

2017 - 04 - 20 - 0262

AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT FIREFIGHTER FRANCISCO BRYAND JR.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Firefighter Francisco Bryand Jr. was injured in the line of duty on May 7, 2015, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Firefighter Bryand is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period May 17, 2016, to July 7, 2016; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 432 hours of accrued leave to Firefighter Bryand; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Firefighter Francisco Bryand Jr.'s line-of-duty injury leave for the period May 17, 2016, to July 7, 2016, is hereby approved.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 20th day of April, 2017.

M A Y O R

Ivy R. Taylor

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

ticia M. Vacek, City Clerk Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	17 (in consent vote: 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 22, 23)						
Date:	04/20/2017						
Time:	09:29:12 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance authorizing the extension of line-of-duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Firefighter Francisco Bryand Jr. [Erik J. Walsh, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		X				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		X			1	X
Alan Warrick	District 2		X			х	
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		X				
Rey Saldaña	District 4	X					
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		X		-		
Ray Lopez	District 6		X		-		
Cris Medina	District 7		X				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		X				
Joe Krier	District 9		X				
Michael Gallagher	District 10		X				