ARESOLUTION 2017 - 05 - 04 - 0022R

SUPPORTING SB179 AND HB306, KNOWN AS "DAVID'S LAW."

WHEREAS, David Molak, a 16 year old San Antonio sophomore, Eagle Scout, avid Spurs fan, fitness enthusiast, and fisherman, took his own life after being the target of bullying at his school; and

WHEREAS, with the proliferation of social media, bullies have become emboldened in their action to shame victims and, as a result, Texas Senator Jose Menendez introduced SB179 and a Texas Representative Ina Minjarez introduced the companion bill, HB306, known as "David's Law;" and

WHEREAS, the goal of the legislation is to fight back against student harassment, bullying, and cyberbullying by focusing on prevention and giving those affected a channel for reporting such incidents; and

WHEREAS, in supporting this legislation, San Antonio takes a stand in proclaiming our City an anti-bullying community and, through the passage of this Resolution, aims to boost the efforts in Austin as well as encourage other cities to join together in giving a stronger voice to the victims of bullying; NOW THERFORE:

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. City Council supports passage of SB179 and HB306, known as "David's Law," aimed at fighting against student harassment, bullying and cyberbullying.

SECTION 2. This Resolution is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED THIS 4th day of May, 2017.

MAYOR

Ivy R Taylor

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Junio N. Vacu

ATTEST:

eticia M. Vacek, City Clerk

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	13						
Date:	05/04/2017						
Time:	09:53:40 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	A Resolution supporting SB179 and HB306, of the 85th Texas Legislature Regular Session, known as "David's Law." [Carlos Contreras, Assistant City Manager; Jeff Coyle, Director, Government and Public Affairs]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		x				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		x				
Alan Warrick	District 2	· ·	x				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x				X
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5	(5)	x				
Ray Lopez	District 6		x				
Cris Medina	District 7		X			x	
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		x				
Joe Krier	District 9	8	x			*	
Michael Gallagher	District 10		x				