KC 05/25/17 Item No. 13

AN ORDINANCE 2017-05-25-0386

AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT FIRE ENGINEER KELLY ABBOTT.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer, Kelly Abbott, was injured in the line of duty on November 29, 2012, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Fire Engineer Abbott is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period November 20, 2015, to April 29, 2016; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 1,110 hours of accrued leave to Fire Engineer Abbott; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Kelly Abbott line-of-duty injury leave for the period November 20, 2015, to April 29, 2016, is hereby approved.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

1

PASSED AND APPROVED this 25th day of May, 2017.

yR. Ca

M A Y O Ivy R. Taylor

ivy K. Tayloi

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

ATTEST

Agenda Item:	13 (in consent vote: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14)						
Date:	05/25/2017						
Time:	09:18:11 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance requesting the extension of line-of-duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Kelly Abbott. [Erik J. Walsh, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ivy R. Taylor	Mayor		x	a			
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		x				x
Alan Warrick	District 2		x		8		
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x			A	
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		x				
Ray Lopez	District 6		x			x	
Cris Medina	District 7	×	x				
Ron Nirenberg	District 8		x				
Joe Krier	District 9		x				
Michael Gallagher	District 10		x				