## State of Texas County of Bexar City of San Antonio



# DRAFT Meeting Minutes City Council Special Meeting

Wednesday, June 21, 2017 11:30 AM Municipal Plaza Building

The City Council of San Antonio convened in a Special Meeting. City Clerk Leticia Vacek took the Roll Call noting the following Councilmembers present:

**PRESENT:** 11 - Mayor Taylor, Treviño, Warrick, Viagran, Saldaña, Gonzales, Lopez, Sandoval, Nirenberg, Krier, and Gallagher

#### 2017-06-21-0483

1. An Ordinance canvassing the June 10, 2017 Run-Off Election for Council Districts 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 10, and Mayor. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

City Clerk Leticia Vacek presented the official results of the June 10, 2017 Run-Off Election for Council Districts 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 10, and Mayor. She presented the Total Votes Cast for each candidate in the Run-Off Election as follows:

#### FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, PLACE NO. 1

Roberto C. Treviño 5,338 votes (Includes 1 Provisional Vote) Michael Montaño 4,991 votes (Includes 1 Provisional Vote)

#### FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, PLACE NO. 2

Alan E. Warrick, II 2,907 votes (Includes 2 Provisional Votes)

William "Cruz" Shaw 3,752 votes

#### FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, PLACE NO. 6

Melissa Cabello Havrda 4,274 votes

Greg Brockhouse 4,709 votes (Includes 1 Provisional Vote)

#### FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, PLACE NO. 8

Cynthia Brehm 5,780 votes (Includes 1 Provisional Vote)

Manny Pelaez 7,084 votes

#### FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, PLACE NO. 9

John Courage 8,490 votes (Includes 1 Provisional Vote)

Marco Barros 7,633 votes

#### **FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, PLACE NO. 10**

Clayton Perry 7,157 votes (Includes 1 Provisional Vote)
Ezra A. Johnson 6,326 votes (Includes 2 Provisional Votes)

#### FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, MAYOR, (PLACE NO. 11)

Ivy R. Taylor 44,922 votes (Includes 3 Provisional Votes) Ron Nirenberg 54,020 votes (Includes 10 Provisional Votes)

Mrs. Vacek reported the total number of votes cast, including 13 provisional ballots, was 99,250 and the total number of registered voters for the City of San Antonio as of May 11, 2017 was 753,841. She stated that the voter turnout for the City of San Antonio Run-Off Election was 13.17%.

Mrs. Vacek declared that as a result of the Run-Off Election, the following persons were elected for a two-year term of office commencing June 21, 2017:

Roberto C. Treviño, Member of Council, Place No. 1

William "Cruz" Shaw, Member of Council, Place No. 2

Greg Brockhouse, Member of Council, Place No. 6

Manny Pelaez, Member of Council, Place No. 8

John Courage, Member of Council, Place No. 9

Clayton H. Perry, Member of Council, Place No. 10

Ron Nirenberg, Member of Council, Mayor (Place No. 11)

Mayor Taylor called upon Ms. Gale Sayers to speak.

Gale Sayers recognized Mayor Ivy R. Taylor and thanked her for her many years of service to the City of San Antonio.

Councilmember Warrick moved to adopt the ordinance canvassing the Election Results of the June 10, 2017 Run-Off Election. Councilmember Treviño seconded the motion. The motion prevailed by the following vote:

**AYE:** 11 - Mayor Taylor, Treviño, Warrick, Viagran, Saldaña, Gonzales, Lopez, Sandoval, Nirenberg, Krier and Gallagher

### OFFICIAL ADMINISTRATION OF STATEMENT OF ELECTED OFFICER AND OATH OF OFFICE

Mayor Taylor presented the Certificates of Election to Councilmembers Roberto C. Treviño, William "Cruz" Shaw, Greg Brockhouse, Manny Pelaez, John Courage, Clayton H. Perry, and Mayor Ron Nirenberg for the 2017-2019 Term.

Mrs. Vacek administered the Statements of Elected Officer and Oaths of Office to newly elected Councilmembers Roberto C. Treviño, William "Cruz" Shaw, Greg Brockhouse, Manny Pelaez, John Courage, Clayton H. Perry, and Mayor Ron Nirenberg.

#### POINT OF PERSONAL PRIVILEGE

Mayor Nirenberg presented outgoing plaques to Councilmember Alan E. Warrick, II, and Mayor Ivy R. Taylor. The City Council thanked Councilmember Warrick and Mayor Taylor for their service on the City Council. Councilmember Warrick and Mayor Taylor thanked the City Council, staff, and their supporters for all of their hard work and accomplishments. Mayor Nirenberg and the City Councilmembers also recognized outgoing Councilmembers Lopez, Krier, and Gallagher and thanked them for their service on the City Council.

#### **NEW ROLL CALL**

City Clerk Vacek took a new Roll Call with the following Councilmembers present:

**PRESENT:** 11 - Mayor Nirenberg, Treviño, Shaw, Viagran, Saldaña, Gonzales, Brockhouse, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage, and Perry

#### DRAWING FOR MAYOR PRO TEM TERMS

Mrs. Vacek requested each Councilmember draw a term for the Mayor Pro Tem for Terms of the 2017-2019 City Council. The result of the drawing are as follows:

June 21, 2017 through August 30, 2017 - Clayton H. Perry

August 31, 2017 through November 9, 2017 - Manny Pelaez

November 10, 2017 through January 19, 2018 - Rey Saldaña

January 20, 2018 through March 31, 2018 - Greg Brockhouse

April 1, 2018 through June 10, 2018 - Shirley Gonzales

June 11, 2018 through August 20, 2018 - Roberto C. Treviño

August 21, 2018 through October 30, 2018 - Rebecca J. Viagran

October 31, 2018 through January 9, 2019 - John Courage

January 10, 2019 through March 21, 2019 - William "Cruz" Shaw

March 22, 2019 through May 31, 2019 - Ana E. Sandoval (or until new MPT Terms are drawn)

#### OATH OF OFFICE - MAYOR PRO TEM

Mrs. Vacek administered the Oath of Office to Councilmember Clayton H. Perry, District 10, as Mayor Pro Tem with an effective date of June 21, 2017 through August 30, 2017.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further discussion, Mayor Nirenberg adjourned the meeting at 1:07 pm.

**APPROVED** 

RON NIRENBERG MAYOR

ATTEST:

LETICIA M. VACEK, TRMC/CMC/MMC CITY CLERK