AN ORDINANCE 2017-11-30-0925

AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT FIRE ENGINEER CHRISTOPHER HUDSON.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Christopher Hudson was injured in the line of duty on March 4, 2015, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Fire Engineer Hudson is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period March 20, 2016, to June 10, 2017; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 2,688 hours of accrued leave to Fire Engineer Hudson; **NOW THEREFORE**:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department line-of-duty injury leave for Fire Engineer Christopher Hudson for the period March 20, 2016, to June 10, 2017, is hereby approved.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 30th day of November, 2017

M A Y O R

Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

icia M. Vacek, City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	30 (in consent vote: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9A, 9B, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, 18, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32)						
Date:	11/30/2017						
Time:	09:43:16 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	An Ordinance requesting the extension of line-of duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Christopher Hudson. [Erik J. Walsh, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ron Nirenberg	Mayor		X				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		X			X	
William Cruz Shaw	District 2		X				X
Rebecca Viagran	District 3	X					
Rey Saldaña	District 4		X				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		X				
Greg Brockhouse	District 6		X				
Ana E. Sandoval	District 7		X				
Manny Pelaez	District 8		X				
John Courage	District 9		X				
Clayton H. Perry	District 10		X		_		