A RESOLUTION 2017 - 12 - 14 - 0047R

APPOINTING DIRECTORS AND CO-CHAIRS TO THE SAN ANTONIO TRICENTENNIAL CELEBRATION COMMISSION.

WHEREAS, the City of San Antonio passed a resolution on June 18, 2015 authorizing the organization and incorporation of a public, nonprofit local government corporation known as the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission, organized for the purpose of aiding and acting on behalf of the City in the performance of the City's governmental functions, including, but not limited to providing a means of assisting with planning, developing, identifying potential partners, fundraising, managing, and financing projects involved with City's Tricentennial Celebration activities, and to accomplish any other governmental purpose of the City; and

WHEREAS, the Commission consists of nineteen directors, with an executive committee consisting of the five co-chairs appointed by the City and Bexar County; and

WHEREAS, the Commission has been working to establish Community Partners, solicit sponsors, and plan events and activities to occur throughout 2018, including a New Year's Eve celebration, art and museum exhibits, educational activities, and Commemorative Week events May 1-6, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Robert Thrailkill and Dr. Katie Luber have resigned their appointments as City-appointed co-chairs to focus on coordination of major Tricentennial events as special advisors to the Commission's executive director, and it is necessary to appoint new co-chairs to the Corporation and to fill their director positions on the Commission; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Nirenberg has nominated Dr. John Folks both as a director and co-chair, and Commission director Dr. Christine Teniente-Matson for a co-chair position, and Councilman Saldaña has nominated Dr. Mike Flores for the District 4 director position vacated by Dr. Teniente-Matson's appointment as a co-chair; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. Dr. John Folks and Dr. Mike Flores are appointed as directors to the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission, as requested by Mayor Nirenberg and Councilman Saldaña.

SECTION 2. Dr. Cynthia Teniente-Matson and Dr. John Folks are appointed as two of the City's three co-chairs on the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission, as requested by Mayor Nirenberg.

SECTION 3. This Resolution is effective immediately if passed by eight affirmative votes; otherwise, this Resolution is effective ten days from the date of passage.

PASSED and APPROVED this 14th day of December, 2017.

M

Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

Leticia M. Vacek City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia
City Attorney

Agenda Item:	28 (in consent vote: 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 16, 18A, 18B, 18C, 19, 20, 23, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 32, 33, 35, 38, 39, 40)						
Date:	12/14/2017						
Time:	09:20:27 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	A Resolution appointing Directors and Co-Chairs to the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]						
Result:	Passed			7			
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ron Nirenberg	Mayor		X				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		X				
William Cruz Shaw	District 2		X			X	
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		X				. X
Rey Saldaña	District 4		X		2		¥
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		Х				
Greg Brockhouse	District 6		X				
Ana E. Sandoval	District 7		X	1.0			
Manny Pelaez	District 8		X				
John Courage	District 9		X				
Clayton H. Perry	District 10		X				