AN ORDINANCE 2018-03-08-0183

APPOINTING JESSICA TODD, LAUREN LEFTON, DR. ESTHER GERGEN, FRED WILLIAMS, DR. LAWRENCE SCHOENFELD, JOHNNY ARREDONDO AND LESLIE BRAMLETT TO THE CITIZEN ADVISORY ACTION BOARD FOR TWO YEAR TERMS OF OFFICE.

WHEREAS, pursuant to the provisions of Section 3 of Article 29 of the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the City of San Antonio, Texas and the San Antonio Police Officers'

Association, passed and approved by San Antonio City Council on September 1, 2016, the San Antonio City Council must select persons from a list of applicants provided by the City Manager to serve as members of the Citizen Advisory Action Board (CAAB); and

WHEREAS, there are currently eight vacancies on the CAAB, which is composed of fourteen persons, and which hears investigations on complaints made against police officers for misconduct, use of force and violation of the San Antonio Police Department General Manual; and

WHEREAS, the term of appointments on the CAAB will be for a two year period, beginning the effective date of this ordinance; and

WHEREAS, applicants were interviewed by a four-person panel, which consisted of Deputy City Manager Erik Walsh, Chief of Police William McManus, First Assistant City Attorney Elizabeth Provencio, and Captain Brian Reyes, and the City Manager and Chief of Police recommend each of the persons listed in Section 1 of this Ordinance; and

WHEREAS, the list of recommended appointees is representative of the diversity of the community, in that the list includes three females and four males, and is comprised of three Hispanics, two Caucasians, and two African Americans; and

WHEREAS, input and recommendation of the San Antonio Police Officers' Association shall be obtained as to the recommended appointees; and

WHEREAS, those on said list must meet the minimum qualifications established by Subsection 143.006(c) of the Texas Local Government Code for service on the San Antonio Fire Fighters' and Police Officers' Civil Service Commission; and

WHEREAS, the City Manager submitted such a list and all of those on that list meet the minimum qualifications; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. The following persons are hereby selected and appointed to serve as members on the CAAB:

- 1. Jessica Todd
- 2. Lauren Lefton
- 3. Dr. Esther Gergen
- 4. Fred Williams
- 5. Dr. Lawrence Schoenfeld
- 6. Johnny Arredondo
- 7. Leslie Bramlett

SECTION 2. The service of said members on the CAAB shall begin when this ordinance takes effect, and shall be for a term of two years.

SECTION 3. This ordinance shall be effective immediately upon passage by eight affirmative votes; otherwise it shall be effective on the tenth day after passage hereof.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 8th day of March, 2018.

M A Y O R

Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST

Leticia M. Vacek City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	16 (in consent vote: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 14, 16, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22)						
Date:	03/08/2018						
Time:	09:29:13 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	Ordinance appointing Jessica Todd, Lauren Lefton, Dr. Esther Gergen, Fred Williams, Dr. Lawrence Schoenfeld, Johnny Arredondo and Leslie Bramlett to the Citizen Advisory Action Board for two year terms of office. [Erik Walsh, Deputy City Manager; William McManus, Chief of Police]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ron Nirenberg	Mayor		X				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		_ X			x	
William Cruz Shaw	District 2		X				X
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		X				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x				k.
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		X				
Greg Brockhouse	District 6		X	<		0	* * *
Ana E. Sandoval	District 7		X				
Manny Pelaez	District 8		x		- 7		
John Courage	District 9		x	8			
Clayton H. Perry	District 10	x					