## ARESOLUTION 2018-04-05-0023R

CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF DR. WILLIS MACKEY TO THE CPS ENERGY BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR A TERM COMMENCING APRIL 6, 2018 AND EXPIRING JANUARY 31, 2023; AND APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF DR. WILLIS MACKEY TO THE SA ENERGY ACQUISITION PUBLIC FACILITY CORPORATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR A TERM COMMENCING APRIL 6, 2018 AND EXPIRING JANUARY 31, 2020.

WHEREAS, the authority of the CPS Energy Board of Trustees is derived from City ordinances and bond covenants; and

WHEREAS, bond covenants require that nominees for vacancies on the CPS Energy Board of Trustees be elected by a majority of the remaining members of the Board of Trustees, such majority vote to include the vote of the Mayor, and that nominees be submitted by the Mayor to the City Council for confirmation; a process most recently sanctioned by Ordinance No. 2017-02-23-0114A at Section 19; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No 87009, dated November 20, 1997, provides that CPS Energy Board of Trustee membership be drawn from all geographic areas of the City, further designating Southeast, Southwest, Northeast, and Northwest Quadrants from which membership is to be drawn; and

WHEREAS, on April 19, 2007, the City Council approved Resolution No. 2007R-04-19-0455 to create the SA Energy Acquisition Public Facility Corporation, which articles of incorporation and by-laws require the City Council to appoint the members of the CPS Energy Board of Trustees along with the General Manager and CEO and the Chief Financial Officer of CPS Energy to the board of the new public facility corporation; and

WHEREAS, the SA Energy Acquisition Public Facility Corporation Board of Directors serve for a term of two years; and

WHEREAS, on March 6, 2018, the CPS Energy Board of Trustees elected Dr. Willis Mackey as nominee to fill the vacancy for the Southeast Quadrant; and

WHEREAS, on March 8, 2018, CPS Energy submitted a letter to the City Clerk seeking a City Council resolution for the confirmation of Dr. Willis Mackey to serve as Trustee representative of the Southeast Quadrant for a term commencing on April 6, 2018 and expiring January 31, 2023; and for the appointment of Dr. Willis Mackey to the Board of Directors of the SA Energy Acquisition Public Facility Corporation for a term commencing on April 6, 2018 and expiring January 31, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Willis Mackey is a resident of Bexar County residing in the Southeast Quadrant; NOW THEREFORE:

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

**SECTION 1.** The nomination of Dr. Willis Mackey by the CPS Energy Board of Trustees is confirmed for a term commencing on April 6, 2018 and expiring January 31, 2023.

RP 04/05/18 Item No. 4

**SECTION 2.** Dr. Willis Mackey is also appointed to the Board of Directors of the SA Energy Acquisition Public Facility Corporation for a term commencing on April 6, 2018 and expiring on January 31, 2020.

**SECTION 3.** This Ordinance becomes effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, on the tenth day after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED, this 5<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2018.

APPROVED AS TO-FQRM:

Ron Nirenberg

0

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	4						
Date:	04/05/2018						
Time:	11:58:08 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	Resolution confirming the nomination of Dr. Willis Mackey by the City Public Service (CPS) Energy Board of Trustees to serve as Trustee of the Southeast Quadrant for a term commencing April 6, 2018 and expiring January 31, 2023; and approving the appointment of Dr. Willis Mackey to the Board of Directors of the SA Energy Acquisition Public Facility Corporation for a term commencing April 6, 2018 and expiring January 31, 2020. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ron Nirenberg	Mayor		x		-		
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		X				Х
William Cruz Shaw	District 2		X			x	
Rebecca Viagran	District 3	,		X			
Rey Saldaña	District 4		X				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5			X			811
Greg Brockhouse	District 6			X			
Ana E. Sandoval	District 7		x				
Manny Pelaez	District 8		X				
John Courage	District 9	4	X				
Clayton H. Perry	District 10	11	x				