# GOVERNANCE COUNCIL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

## APRIL 4, 2018 at 12:00 PM CITY HALL, MEDIA BRIEFING ROOM

Committee Present:	Mayor Ron Nirenberg, Chair
	Councilmember Roberto Treviño, District 1
	Councilmember Rebecca Viagran, District 3
	Councilmember Rey Saldaña, District 4
	Councilmember Ana Sandoval, District 7
Staff Present:	Councilmember John Courage, District 9; Andy Segovia,
	City Attorney; Leticia Saenz, Deputy City Clerk; Trey
	Jacobson, Mayor's Chief of Staff; Ed Guzman & Camila
	Kunau, City Attorney's Office; Lina Rodriguez, Executive
	Assistant to the City Clerk; Caitlin Krobot, City Manager's
	Office; Susy Romero, District 3 Staff; Tim Salas, District 4
	Staff; Bianca Maldonado, District 7 Staff; Rebecca
	Podowski, District 10 Staff
Others Present:	Robert "Bob" Comeaux, Lester Bryant, Roland Gonzales,
	Ezra Johnson, Amanda Merck, Patricia Rodriguez, &
	Francisco Sanchez, VIA Interviewees; Leroy Alloway &
	Eloy LaQue, VIA Staff; John Leal, CPS Energy; Erin Bley,
	Kaufman & Killen; Margaret Moore, Centro San Antonio;
	Jeffrey Sullivan, Rivard Report

## **CALL TO ORDER**

Mayor Nirenberg called the meeting to order.

## 1. Consideration of Applicants to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority (5 Slots) [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

Deputy City Clerk Leticia Saenz presented the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority applicants for interview and noted the five available slots.

Mayor Nirenberg noted of the original thirteen applicants selected for interview, Brian Dillard, Ryan Cox, and Jason Rodriguez were unable to attend, but submitted written statements for consideration. He further noted that Steven Hussain, Judy Trevino, and Sonia Rodriguez withdrew from consideration.

Mayor Nirenberg asked all interviewees present to step outside of the meeting room and be called individually to be interviewed. He explained each interviewee would be given three minutes for prepared remarks and then his colleagues would ask questions. He added that the Committee would recess into Executive Session to discuss the applicants and return with a recommendation for the five available slots.

The following applicants were interviewed:

- 1. Robert "Bob" Comeaux
- 2. Lester Bryant
- 3. Roland Gonzales
- 4. Ezra Johnson
- 5. Amanda Merck
- 6. Patricia Rodriguez
- 7. Francisco Sanchez

#### **RECESSED**

Mayor Nirenberg announced that the Governance Committee would recess into Executive Session at 1:43 pm to deliberate the appointment, evaluation and duties of public officers and discuss legal issues pursuant to Texas Government Code Section 551.074 (personnel matters) and Texas Government Code Section 551.071 (consultation with attorney).

## **RECONVENED**

Mayor Nirenberg reconvened the meeting at 2:12 pm and announced that no action was taken in Executive Session.

Councilmember Saldaña moved to forward the recommendation of Robert "Bob" Comeaux, Ezra Johnson, Amanda Merck, Patricia Rodriguez, and Brian Dillard to full Council. Councilmember Viagran seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

## Next Scheduled Meeting: April 18, 2018.

Mayor Nirenberg reported that the next Governance City Council Committee Meeting would be held on April 18, 2018.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further discussion, Mayor Nirenberg adjourned the meeting at 2:14 pm.

Ron Nirenberg, Mayor