ORDINANCE 2018-06-14-0453

AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT FIRE ENGINEER EDDIE DOUGLAS III.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Eddie Douglas III was injured in the line of duty on November 24, 2015, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Fire Engineer Douglas is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period November 23, 2016, to April 12, 2017; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 1,128 hours of accrued leave to Fire Engineer Douglas; **NOW THEREFORE:**

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Eddie Douglas III's line-of-duty injury leave for the period November 23, 2016, to April 12, 2017, is hereby approved.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 14th day of June, 2018.

icia M. Vacek, City Cle

M A Y O

Ron Nirenberg

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	28 (in consent vote: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19A, 19B, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 32, 33)						
Date:	06/14/2018						
Time:	10:22:38 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	Ordinance extending line-of duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Eddie Douglas III. [Erik J. Walsh, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]						
Result:	Passed	la la					
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ron Nirenberg	Mayor		X				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		X			x	
William Cruz Shaw	District 2		X		141		х
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		X				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		X				
Greg Brockhouse	District 6		X				
Ana E. Sandoval	District 7		x				
Manny Pelaez	District 8		X				
John Courage	District 9		х				
Clayton H. Perry	District 10		x				