## AN ORDINANCE 2018-06-21-0495

APPOINTING CLARISSA L. CHAVARRIA, LISA M. GONZALES, DANIEL GUERRERO, LINDA HAYNES-HARRISON, JAMES DANIEL KASSAHN, CHRISTINE DAUPHINE LACY, CARLA MARIE OBLEDO, MICHAEL RAMOS, MARGARITA S. POL, AND PETER ANDREW ZAMORA AS FULL-TIME MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGES AND APPOINTING MELANIE A. CASTILLO, LAUREN M. LEFTON, JAVIER ROCHA, CARMEN R. ROJO, FRANK D. SANDOVAL, ALFREDO MACIAS TAVERA, AND AIDA ANN ZARAGOZA AS PART-TIME MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGES FOR THE REMAINDER OF A TWO-YEAR TERM EXPIRING APRIL 30, 2020.

WHEREAS, there are currently nine full-time and four part-time Municipal Court Judges, appointed by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the number of full- and part-time Municipal Court Judges has been expanded to ten full-time and nine part-time, to address additional staffing needed for court and Magistrate duties; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Court Advisory Committee met on June 12, 2018 to interview the current full-time Municipal Court Judges and selected applicants for full- and part-time Municipal Court Judges and, after finding that each applicant met the qualifications to serve, voted to bring their recommendations forward for full Council consideration; and

WHEREAS, after review and consideration of the qualifications and performance of the applicants for full- and part-time time Municipal Court Judges, the City Council finds that it is in the best interests of the City to appoint the Municipal Court Advisory Committee nominees as Judges; NOW THEREFORE:

## BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

**SECTION 1**. The following persons are appointed to serve as full-time Municipal Court Judges for the City of San Antonio Municipal Court for the remainder of terms expiring April 30, 2020:

Clarissa L. Chavarria Lisa M. Gonzales Daniel Guerrero Linda Haynes-Harrison James Daniel Kassahn Christine Dauphin Lacy Carla Marie Obledo Michael Ramos Margarita S. Pol Peter Andrew Zamora

**SECTION 2**. The following persons are appointed to serve as part-time Municipal Court Judges for the City of San Antonio Municipal Court for the remainder of terms expiring April 30, 2020:

Melanie A. Castillo Lauren M. Lefton Javier Rocha Carmen R. Rojo Frank D. Sandoval Alfredo Macias Tavera Aida Ann Zaragoza CWK 06/21/18 Item No. 37

**SECTION 3**. Annual salaries for the full-time Judges are established at \$105,392.56. Compensation for part-time Judges is \$45.48 per hour worked. Life insurance and health and retirement benefits currently extended to City employees are extended to the full-time Judges.

**SECTION 4**. This ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 21st day of June 2018.

A Y O R

Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Leticia M. Vaoek, City Clerk

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	37 (in consent vote: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18A, 18B, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25A, 25B, 25C, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 34, 35A, 35B, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 46, 47, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 56A, 56B, 56C, 56D, 56E)						
Date:	06/21/2018						
Time:	09:39:05 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	Ordinance appointing Clarissa L. Chavarria, Lisa M. Gonzales, Daniel Guerrero, Linda Haynes-Harrison, James Daniel Kassahn, Christine Dauphine Lacy, Carla Marie Obledo, Michael Ramos, Margarita S. Pol, and Peter Andrew Zamora as Full-Time Municipal Court Judges and appointing Melanie A. Castillo, Lauren M. Lefton, Javier Rocha, Carmen R. Rojo, Frank D. Sandoval, Alfredo Macias Tavera, and Aida Ann Zaragoza as Part-Time Municipal Court Judges for terms expiring April 30, 2020. [John Bull, Presiding Judge, Municipal Courts]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ron Nirenberg	Mayor		x	T.			
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		x			х	
William Cruz Shaw	District 2		x				X
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x				
Rey Saldaña	District 4	9)	x				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		x				
Greg Brockhouse	District 6		x			9	
Ana E. Sandoval	District 7		x				
Manny Pelaez	District 8		X	90			
John Courage	District 9		x			*	
Clayton H. Perry	District 10		X				