SS 06/21/18 Item No. 46

## AN ORDINANCE 2018-06-21-0503

APPROVING THE CONTINUATION OF THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVED 2009 DESIGNATION OF HAVEN FOR HOPE OF BEXAR COUNTY, INC. AS THE SUBRECIPIENT FOR THE TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS' HOMELESS HOUSING AND SERVICES PROGRAM GRANT IN THE ESTIMATED ANNUAL AMOUNT OF \$979,494.00 FOR A TWO-YEAR PERIOD FROM SEPTEMBER 1, 2018 THROUGH AUGUST 31, 2020.

\* \* \* \* \*

**WHEREAS**, established in 2009, the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) Homeless Housing and Services Program (HHSP) funds services for individuals and families experiencing homelessness; and

**WHEREAS**, HHSP funding is currently available for municipalities in Texas with a population over 285,500, which currently includes the eight largest cities in Texas: Arlington, Austin, Corpus Christi, Dallas, El Paso, Fort Worth, Houston and San Antonio; and

**WHEREAS**, on November 5, 2009 the City Council approved Haven for Hope of Bexar County, Inc. as the appointed eligible designee to receive funds from the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs' Homeless Housing and Services Program; and

WHEREAS, allowable activities for HHSP funding include: construction, development, or procurement of housing for homeless persons; rehabilitation of structures targeted to serving homeless persons or persons at-risk of homelessness; provision of direct services and case management to homeless persons or persons at-risk of homelessness; or other homelessness-related activity as approved by TDHCA; and

WHEREAS, since the inception of HHSP, Haven for Hope of Bexar County, Inc. has been the subrecipient on behalf of the City of San Antonio; and

**WHEREAS,** Haven for Hope of Bexar County, Inc. has utilized HHSP funds to support case management and capital improvements for the homeless population at Haven for Hope; and

WHEREAS, proposed changes to the Texas Administrative Code anticipated to be approved in mid June 2018 require that a designation of an entity to administer the funds be in the form of a resolution of other city council action from the municipality's governing body for one or two years and submitted to the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs; NOW THEREFORE: SS 06/21/18 Item No. 46

## BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

**SECTION 1.** The continuation of the City Council approved 2009 Designation of Haven for Hope of Bexar County, Inc. as the subrecipient for the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs' Homeless Housing and Services Program Grant in the estimated annual amount of \$979,494.00 for a two-year period from September 1, 2018 through August 31, 2020, and any extensions thereto granted by TDHCA is hereby approved. The designation will authorize Haven for Hope to enter into a direct contract with TDHCA to administer funds from the Homeless Housing and Services Program.

**SECTION 2**. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise; it is effective ten day after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 21st day of June, 2018.

R 0 M Y **Ron** Nirenberg

ATTEST: Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk **APPROVED AS TO FORM:** 

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	46 (in consent vote: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18A, 18B, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25A, 25B, 25C, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 34, 35A, 35B, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 46, 47, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 56A, 56B, 56C, 56D, 56E)						
Date:	06/21/2018						
Time:	09:39:05 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	Ordinance approving the continuation of the City Council approved 2009 Designation of Haven for Hope of Bexar County, Inc. as the subrecipient for the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs for the Homeless Housing and Services Program Grant in the estimated annual amount of \$979,494.00 for a two-year period from September 1, 2018 through August 31, 2020. [María Villagómez, Assistant City Manager; Melody Woosley, Director, Human Services]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ron Nirenberg	Mayor		x				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1	×	x			x	
William Cruz Shaw	District 2		x				x
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x				
Rey Saldaña	District 4		x				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		x	×			
Greg Brockhouse	District 6		x				
Ana E. Sandoval	District 7		x				
Manny Pelaez	District 8		х				
John Courage	District 9		x				
Clayton H. Perry	District 10		x				