AN ORDINANCE 2018-11-15-0919

RENAMING AND RESTRUCTURING THE COMPOSITION AND CHARGE OF THE "SAN ANTONIO HOUSING COMMISSION TO PROTECT AND PRESERVE DYNAMIC AND DIVERSE NEIGHBORHOODS" AS RECOMMENDED BY THE MAYOR'S TASK FORCE ON PRESERVING DYNAMIC AND DIVERSE NEIGHBORHOODS' HOUSING POLICY FRAMEWORK REPORT

WHEREAS, on July 11, 2014 the Mayor's Task Force on Preserving Dynamic and diverse Neighborhoods was established to identify policies and programs that encourage investment in inner-city neighborhood while minimizing or preventing displacement of proper and reducing adverse impacts to the history, culture and quality of life; and

WHEREAS, on May 14, 2015, City Council accepted the Task Force's Final Report and based thereon created the San Antonio Housing Commission to Protect and Preserve Dynamic and Diverse Neighborhoods; a fifteen member commission charged with increasing workforce and affordable housing preservation and production and with making recommendations to City Council on workforce/affordable housing preservation and production as well as policies to minimize displacement and mitigate the effects of neighborhood change; and

WHEREAS, the Commission was also tasked with developing and implementing the recommendations included in the Task Force's Housing Policy Framework Report. An annual work plan was created to address these and other housing policy related issues; and

WHEREAS, the Commission successfully recommended revisions to the City's zoning notification process, Unified Development Code, and impact fee and waiver programs; and

WHEREAS, the Commission provided guidance and direction regarding the structure and focus of a housing bond that ultimately resulted in a voter-approved \$20 million Neighborhood Improvements Bond; and

WHEREAS, in August of 2017, Mayor Ron Nirenberg established the Mayor's Housing Policy Task Force (MHPTF) to develop a comprehensive and compassionate housing policy roadmap and lead a policy-making process grounded in community, data, and best practices to address the full spectrum of housing; and

WHEREAS, in September of 2018, City Council accepted the Mayor's Housing Policy Task Force Final Report and approved key recommendations to ensure an adequate supply of affordable housing, one of which was to reconstitute the Commission as a public oversight board to guide the implementation of the Task Force's recommendations and engage the public in the development of affordable housing policy; and JW 11/15/18 Item #22

WHEREAS, the City Council hereby finds that it is necessary that the Housing Commission to Protect and Preserve Dynamic and Diverse Neighborhoods be reconstituted and its Charge be amended in order to carry out the next phase of the City's development and implementation of affordable housing policies and initiatives in accordance with the MHPTF's Final Report; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. The San Antonio Housing Commission to Protect and Preserve Dynamic and Diverse Neighborhoods is renamed as the San Antonio Housing Commission ("Housing Commission").

SECTION 2. The charge of the new Housing Commission shall be to serve as a public oversight Board to guide the implementation of the MHPTF's recommendations and engage the public in the development of affordable housing policy. This also would include an annual report of the implementation and progress made for the Affordable Housing programs and projects included in the City's annual Budget as well as other affordable housing issues and polices in the City's Affordable Housing Work Plan.

SECTION 3. The Housing Commission shall be comprised of nine members as set out below:

- a. Four of the members shall be filled by the CEO/ Executive Director of the following organizations:
 - 1. San Antonio Housing Authority;
 - 2. San Antonio Housing Trust;
 - 3. San Antonio Economic Development Foundation; and
 - 4. VIA Metropolitan Transit.
- b. The remaining positions are to be filled by five at large community members with a history of neighborhood engagement. These five positions will be nominated by the Mayor in consultation with the City Council and shall be approved by the full City Council.

SECTION 4. The Mayor shall appoint the Chair of the Housing commission from among its members and the Commission shall have a process for inclusive and ongoing engagement with the public. Commission members shall be appointed for two year terms coterminous with City Council. Appointments may be made by the Mayor without further action by City Council. Initial terms shall end on May 31, 2019.

SECTION 5. The Commission shall be an advisory board to the City Council.

SECTION 6. Commission members shall not be compensated for service on the Commission.

SECTION 7. City residency for Commission members is recommended, but is not required.

JW 11/15/18 Item #22

SECTION 8. Unless otherwise set out within this ordinance, the Commission shall be governed by the City's Boards and Commissions ordinance.

SECTION 9. The Neighborhood and Housing Services Department shall provide staff support for the Housing Commission, with the assistance of the Office of the City Attorney and other city departments, as requested. In order to support its work, the Commission may also seek voluntary technical or specific professional assistance from individuals in the community representing certain technical disciplines or areas of special expertise.

SECTION 10. The Housing Commission shall convene as soon as practicable after its members are appointed at which time the previous Housing Commission to Protect and Preserve Dynamic and Diverse Neighborhoods shall sunset and will thereby be dissolved.

SECTION 11. This ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED on this 15th day of November, 2018.

R Y 0

Ron Nirenberg

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

ATTEST ticia M. Vacek, City Clerk

CITY COUNCIL MEETING

CONSENT AGENDA: ITEMS 5, 6, 7, 9, 10A, 10B, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18, 19, 22, AND 23

DATE: November 15, 2018

TO APPROVE

Name	ROLL CALL	MOTION	Second	Abstain	Aye	Nay	Absent
Roberto C. Treviño District 1					~		
William "Cruz" Shaw District 2							X
Rebecca J. Viagran District 3		\checkmark		i stábi	~		
Rey Saldaña District 4					V		
Shirley Gonzales District 5					V		
Greg Brockhouse District 6					V		
Ana E. Sandoval District 7					V		
Manny Peláez District 8					V		
John Courage District 9			~		V		
Clayton H. Perry District 10					V		
Ron Nirenberg Mayor					V		

COMMENTS: