AN ORDINANCE 2019-01-10-0001

APPOINTING ART A. HALL AS THE TEMPORARY REPLACEMENT CITY COUNCIL MEMBER FOR DISTRICT 2.

* * * * *

WHEREAS, upon the resignation of District 2 City Council member William "Cruz" Shaw, effective January 7, 2019, the District 2 office became vacant; and

WHEREAS, the City Council invited qualified residents of District 2 to submit applications to the Office of the City Clerk for consideration for appointment to temporarily fill the vacancy for the remainder of the unexpired term of office; and

WHEREAS, qualified applicants were interviewed at the B Session on Wednesday, January 9, 2019, and selected applicants were invited for additional interviews at today's A Session; and

WHEREAS, the City Council now wishes to appoint a temporary replacement for the District 2 City Council office; **NOW THEREFORE**:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. Art A. Hall is appointed to serve as the temporary District 2 member of the City Council of the City of San Antonio, to serve the remainder of the unexpired term and until the person elected at the May 4, 2019 general election or June 8, 2019 runoff election, is sworn in.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, on the tenth day after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 10th day of January, 2019.

I A Y O R

Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST

eticia M. Vacek, City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	4						
Date:	01/10/2019						
Time:	12:55:23 PM						
Vote Type:	Other: To Appoint Art Hall						
Description:	Interviewing finalists for the District 2 City Council vacancy and appointing a replacement City Councilmember. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]						
Result:	Passed	vi					
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ron Nirenberg	Mayor		X				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1			х			
	District 2	х					
Rebecca Viagran	District 3			x			
Rey Saldaña	District 4		X				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		x				X
Greg Brockhouse	District 6			х			
Ana E. Sandoval	District 7		x		s		
Manny Pelaez	District 8		x			x	24
John Courage	District 9		x				
Clayton H. Perry	District 10		x				