ORDINANCE 2019-01-17-0030

APPOINTING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERS OR EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS OF THE SAN ANTONIO HOUSING AUTHORITY, SAN ANTONIO HOUSING TRUST, SAN ANTONIO ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION, AND VIA METROPOLITAN TRANSIT AUTHORITY, OR THEIR DESIGNEES; AND ROBERT J. ABRAHAM, JESSICA O. GUERRERO, MARIANNE KESTENBAUM, LOURDES M. CASTRO RAMIREZ, AND DR. THEODORE PAUL FURUKAWA TO THE SAN ANTONIO HOUSING COMMISSION FOR AN INITIAL TERM OF OFFICE TO EXPIRE MAY 31, 2019.

* * * * *

WHEREAS, on November 15, 2018 City Council passed Ordinance No. 2018-11-15-0919 creating the San Antonio Housing Commission and establishing the composition and terms of office for the members of the Commission; and

WHEREAS, the nine member Commission is composed of the Chief Executive Officers or Executive Directors of the San Antonio Housing Authority, San Antonio Housing Trust, San Antonio Economic Development Foundation, and Via Metropolitan Transit Authority and five at large members who are to be appointed by the Mayor; initial appointments to the Commission shall be made by the Mayor with the consultation and approval of the full City Council and subsequent appointments of Commissioners may be made by the Mayor without further action of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, applications for the five at large member appointments were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who forwarded the applications to the Office of the Mayor, the Neighborhood & Housing Services Department and the City Attorney's Office for review and after approval by pertinent City Departments, a memorandum designating each nominee was submitted by the Mayor's office to the Office of the City Clerk for preparation to present the nominations to the City Council for approval; and

WHEREAS, after reviewing the applications of the nominees presented herein, the City Council finds each nominee to be qualified and suitable persons to serve on the San Antonio Housing Commission; **NOW THEREFORE**,

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. The following Chief Executive Officers or Executive Directors, or their respective designees, are hereby appointed to the San Antonio Housing Commission:

- 1. San Antonio Housing Authority;
- 2. San Antonio Housing Trust;
- 3. San Antonio Economic Development Foundation; and
- 4. VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority.

JW 01/17/2019 Item No. 18

SECTION 2. The following five individuals are hereby appointed to serve as the five at large members of the San Antonio Housing Commission:

- 1. Robert J. Abraham;
- 2. Jessica O. Guerrero;
- 3. Marianne Kestenbaum;
- 4. Lourdes M. Castro Ramirez; and
- 5. Dr. Theodore Paul Furukawa.

SECTION 3. Each appointee's initial term shall expire on May 31, 2019. Following their initial terms, two appointees, as selected by the Mayor, shall automatically serve a one year term to expire May 31, 2020 and three appointees, as selected by the Mayor, shall automatically serve a two year term to expire May 31, 2021. Thereafter, appointees shall serve two year, staggered terms.

SECTION 4. All subsequent appointments to the Commission may be made by the Mayor without further action by the City Council.

SECTION 5. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED and APPROVED on this 17th day of January, 2019.

Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	18						
Date:	01/17/2019						
Time:	11:15:01 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	Ordinance appointing the Chief Executive Officers or Executive Directors of the San Antonio Housing Authority, San Antonio Housing Trust, San Antonio Economic Development Foundation, and VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority, or their designees; and Robert J. Abraham, Jessica O. Guerrero, Marianne Kestenbaum, Lourdes M. Castro Ramirez, and Dr. Theodore Paul Furukawa to the San Antonio Housing Commission for an initial term of office to expire May 31, 2019. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ron Nirenberg	Mayor		х				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		X				
Art A. Hall	District 2		X				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		X			х	
Rey Saldaña	District 4		X		2		
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		X				
Greg Brockhouse	District 6		X				
Ana E. Sandoval	District 7		x				
Manny Pelaez	District 8	х					
John Courage	District 9		x		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,		x
Clayton H. Perry	District 10		X				