# CITY OF SAN ANTONIO OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK GOVERNANCE CITY COUNCIL COMMITTEE

TO:	Mayor Ron Nirenberg, Chair Councilmember Roberto C. Treviño Councilmember Rebecca J. Viagran Councilmember Rey Saldaña Councilmember Ana E. Sandoval
FROM:	Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk, TRMC/CMC/MMC
SUBJECT:	Consideration of Applicants to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority (1 Slot)
DATE:	January 16, 2019

### SUMMARY:

The Governance City Council Committee will convene to interview and consider five (5) Applicants to fill one (1) slot on the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority vacated due to the resignation of Brian Dillard. The term of office is for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire on December 31, 2020. The five (5) Applicants were selected by the Governance City Council Committee on December 5, 2018.

Name of Applicant	District	Gender	Employer
Dr. Chantal Harrison	District 8	Female	Retired
Melinda Razvi	District 8	Female	Fresenius Kidney Care
Ranjit Singh Thakurratan	District 8	Male	Dell EMC
Kristi Garza Villanueva	District 2	Female	West San Antonio Chamber of Commerce
Christy A.Woodward Kaupert	District 9	Female	San Antonio College

# **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

VIA manages and operates the Metropolitan Transit Authority within Bexar County, Texas. VIA is governed by a Board of Trustees with eleven appointees, five (5) of which are appointed by the San Antonio City Council. Board members are appointed to staggered two-year terms and may serve up to four terms. There is currently one (1) slot available for a term of office to expire December 31, 2020. One slot is vacant due to the resignation of Brian Dillard.

#### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

# **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

The City Clerk recommends approval of the Governance Council Committee's selection and that same be submitted for the City Council Meeting on January 31, 2019.