GOVERNANCE CITY COUNCIL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

JANUARY 16, 2019 at 11:30 AM MUNICIPAL PLAZA "B" ROOM

Committee Present:	Mayor Ron Nirenberg, Chair			
	Councilmember Roberto Treviño, District 1			
	Councilmember Rebecca Viagran, District 3			
	Councilmember Rey Saldaña, District 4			
	Councilmember Ana Sandoval, District 7			
Staff Present:	Sheryl Sculley, City Manager; Andy Segovia, City			
	Attorney; Leticia Vacek, City Clerk; Ed Guzman, Deputy City Attorney; Caitlin Krobot, City Manager's Office; Rosana Galaviz & Raul Olveda, District 4 Staff; Lina Rodriguez, Executive Assistant to the City Clerk			
Others Present:	Dr. Chantal Harrison, Kristi Garza Villanueva, and Christy			
	A Woodward Kaupert, VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority			
	Applicants; Eloy Laque & Leroy Alloway, VIA			
	Metropolitan Transit Authority Staff; Erin Bley, Kaufman-			
	Killen			

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Nirenberg called the meeting to order.

1. Approval of the Minutes from the City Council Governance Committee Meeting of December 5, 2018.

Councilmember Sandoval moved to approve the Minutes from the City Council Governance Committee Meeting of December 5, 2018. Councilmember Treviño seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

2. The Governance City Council Committee will convene to interview and consider five (5) Applicants to fill one (1) slot on the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority vacated due to the resignation of Brian Dillard. The term of office is for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire on December 31, 2020. The five (5) Applicants were selected by the Governance City Council Committee on December 5, 2018. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

City Clerk Leticia Vacek reported that the Governance City Council Committee selected five applicants for interviews to fill one slot on the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority vacated by the resignation of Brian Dillard. She noted that of the five applicants chosen, Ranjit Singh Thakurratan and Melinda Razvi had submitted written statements to the Committee as they could not attend. She stated that the term of office was for the remainder of the unexpired term of office that will expire on December 31, 2020. The following applicants were interviewed: (1) Dr. Chantal Harrison; (2) Kristi Garza Villanueva; and (3) Christy A. Woodward Kaupert.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mayor Nirenberg recessed the meeting into Executive Session at 12:09 pm to discuss the following:

A. Deliberate the appointment of VIA Board Members and any related legal issues pursuant to Texas Government Code Sections 551.074 (personnel matters) and 551.071 (consultation with attorney).

RECONVENED

Mayor Nirenberg reconvened the meeting at 12:20 pm and announced that no action was taken in Executive Session.

Councilmember Saldaña moved to nominate Kristi Garza Villanueva to fill the slot on the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority vacated due to the resignation of Brian Dillard and forward to the full City Council for approval. Councilmember Treviño seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further discussion, Mayor Nirenberg adjourned the meeting at 12:22 pm.

ATTEST:		
		Ron Nirenberg, Mayor
Leticia M. Vacek, TRMC/CMC/MMC City Clerk		Zon Harondorg, Mayor