City of San Antonio



AGENDA City Council Special Session

City Hall Complex 105 Main Plaza San Antonio, Texas 78205

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

2:00 PM

Municipal Plaza Building

The City Council of San Antonio convened in a Special Meeting. City Clerk Leticia Vacek took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Councilmembers present:

PRESENT: Mayor Nirenberg, Treviño, Hall, Viagran, Saldaña, Gonzales, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage,

and Perry.

ABSENT: Brockhouse.

2019-06-19-0529

1. Ordinance canvassing the June 8, 2019 Run-Off Election for City Council Districts 2, 4, 6, and Mayor. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

City Clerk Leticia Vacek presented the official results of the June 8, 2019 Run-Off Election for Council Districts 2, 4, 6, and Mayor. She presented the Total Votes Cast for each candidate in the Run-Off Election as follows:

FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, PLACE NO. 2

Keith A. Toney 3,010 votes Jada L. Andrews-Sullivan 3,277 votes

FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, PLACE NO. 4

Adriana Rocha Garcia 4,262 votes Johnny Arredondo 1,622 votes

FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, PLACE NO. 6

Melissa Cabello Havrda 6,648 votes Andy Green 5,006 votes

FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, MAYOR (PLACE NO. 11)

Ron Nirenberg 61,741 votes Greg Brockhouse 59,051 votes Mrs. Vacek reported the total number of votes cast, including provisional and overseas mail ballots, was 121,033 and the total number of registered voters for the City of San Antonio was 784,148. She stated that the voter turnout for the City of San Antonio Run-Off Election was 15.43%.

Mrs. Vacek declared that as a result of the Run-Off Election, the following persons were elected for a two-year term of office commencing June 19, 2019:

Jada L. Andrews-Sullivan, Member of Council, Place No. 2 Adriana Rocha Garcia, Member of Council, Place No. 4 Melissa Cabello Havrda, Member of Council, Place No. 6 Ron Nirenberg, Member of Council, Mayor (Place No. 11)

Councilmember Viagran moved to adopt the ordinance canvassing the Election Results of the June 8, 2019 Run-Off Election. Councilmember Saldaña seconded the motion. The motion prevailed by the following vote:

AYE: 10 - Mayor Nirenberg, Treviño, Hall, Viagran, Saldaña, Gonzales, Sandoval, Pelaez,

Courage and Perry

ABSENT: Brockhouse

OFFICIAL ADMINISTRATION OF STATEMENT OF ELECTED OFFICER AND OATH OF OFFICE

Mayor Pro-Tem Art A. Hall presented the Certificate of Election to Mayor Ron Nirenberg for the 2019-2021 Term.

Mayor Nirenberg presented the Certificates of Election to Councilmembers Jada Andrews-Sullivan, Adriana Rocha Garcia, and Melissa Cabello Havrda for the 2019-2021 Term.

Mrs. Vacek administered the Statements of Elected Officers and Oaths of Office to newly elected Councilmembers Jada Andrews-Sullivan, Adriana Rocha Garcia, Melissa Cabello Havrda, and Mayor Ron Nirenberg.

PRESENTATION OF PLAQUES

Mayor Nirenberg presented plaques to outgoing Councilmembers Art A. Hall and Rey Saldaña. The City Council thanked Councilmembers Hall and Saldaña for their service to the City Council. Councilmembers Hall and Saldaña thanked the City Council, staff, and their supporters for all of their hard work and accomplishments. Mayor Nirenberg and the City Councilmembers also recognized outgoing Councilmember Greg Brockhouse who was unable to attend and thanked him for his service on the City Council.

NEW ROLL CALL

City Clerk Vacek administered the Roll Call noting the following Councilmembers present:

PRESENT: 11 - Mayor Nirenberg, Treviño, Andrews-Sullivan, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Gonzales, Cabello Havrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage, and Perry.

DRAWING FOR MAYOR PRO TEM TERMS

Mrs. Vacek requested each Councilmember draw a term for the Mayor Pro Tem for Terms of the 2019-2021 City Council. The results of the drawing are as follows:

June 19, 2019 through August 28, 2019 – Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia

August 29, 2019 through November 7, 2019 – Shirley Gonzales

November 8, 2019 through January 17, 2020 – Ana E. Sandoval

January 18, 2020 through March 28, 2020 – Clayton H. Perry

March 29, 2020 through June 7, 2020 – Melissa Cabello Havrda

June 8, 2020 through August 17, 2020 – Manny Pelaez

August 18, 2020 through October 27, 2020 - Roberto C. Treviño

October 28, 2020 through January 6, 2021 – Jada Andrews-Sullivan

January 7, 2021 through March 18, 2021 – Rebecca Viagran

March 19, 2021 through May 31, 2021 – John Courage (or until new MPT Terms are drawn)

OATH OF OFFICE - MAYOR PRO TEM

Mrs. Vacek administered the Oath of Office to Councilmember Adriana Rocha Garcia, District 4, as Mayor Pro-Tem with an effective date of June 19, 2019 through August 28, 2019.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further discussion, Mayor Nirenberg adjourned the meeting at 3:34 pm.

APPROVED

RON NIRENBERG MAYOR

ATTEST:

LETICIA M. VACEK, TRMC/CMC/MMC CITY CLERK