KC 08/22/19 Item No. 24

ORDINANCE 2019-08-22-0659

AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY FOR SAN ANTONIO **INJURY** LEAVE FIRE DEPARTMENT FIRE ENGINEER FREDERICK JOHNSON.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer, Frederick Johnson, was injured in the line of duty on July 5, 2016, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Fire Engineer Johnson is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period July 7, 2017, to July 9, 2018; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 2,082 hours of accrued leave to Fire Engineer Johnson; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Frederick Johnson's line-of-duty injury leave for the period July 7, 2017, to July 9, 2018, is hereby approved.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 22nd day of August, 2019.

R M

Ron Nirenberg

AT M. Vacek, City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

1

Agenda Item:	24 (in consent vote: 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, P-1, Z-1)						
Date:	08/22/2019						
Time:	09:35:19 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	Ordinance extending line-of-duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Frederick Johnson. [Maria Villagomez, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ron Nirenberg	Mayor		x				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		x				х
Jada Andrews-Sullivan	District 2		x				
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		x				
Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia	District 4		x				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		x				2
Melissa Cabello Havrda	District 6		x				
Ana E. Sandoval	District 7		x				1
Manny Pelaez	District 8		x				1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
John Courage	District 9		x			x	
Clayton H. Perry	District 10		x				