LB 10/03/19 Item No. 23

ORDINANCE 2019-10-03-0811

AUTHORIZING SUBMISSION OF A LOCAL CONTRIBUTION IN THE AMOUNT OF \$41,824.00 TO THE TEXAS GOVERNOR'S OFFICE IN ANTICIPATION OF REIMBURSEMENT OF UP TO \$303,223.00 FROM THE EVENTS TRUST FUND FOR THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PHYSICISTS 2019 ANNUAL MEETING AT THE HENRY B. GONZALEZ CONVENTION CENTER.

* * * * *

WHEREAS, the Events Trust Fund ("Fund") created through Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes 5190.14, provides municipalities and counties the opportunity to obtain reimbursement for eligible expenses related to hosting and attracting high-visibility, high-tax impact events to the State of Texas, that could otherwise have taken place outside of the state, and reimbursements from the Fund are based on the anticipated tax gain for a particular event and require municipalities to match funds that are deposited in the Fund at 1:6.25 ratio; and

WHEREAS, the American Association of Physicists 2019 Annual Meeting ("Event") was held at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center from July 14-18, 2019, with an estimated 4,100 average daily attendance and this Event was approved by the Governor's Office as eligible under the Fund for reimbursement of up to \$303,223.00 in qualified Event expenses; and

WHEREAS, based on the sum of the eligible expenses, the statute requires the City to remit a local contribution of \$41,824.00 to the State representing the City's mandatory contribution to the Fund; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. The remittance of \$41,824.00 to the State as a local contribution for the Events Trust Fund is authorized and approved.

SECTION 2. City staff is directed to seek reimbursement of all eligible expenses related to the Event.

SECTION 3. Funding in the amount of \$41,824.00 for this Ordinance is available in Fund 29002001, Cost Center 8003020001, and General Ledger 5407560 as part of the Fiscal Year 2019 Budget.

SECTION 4. Payment not to exceed the budgeted amount is authorized to the Texas Governor's Office as a local contribution in anticipation of reimbursement for rental concessions from the Texas State Events Trust Fund for the American Association of Physicists 2019 Annual Meeting.

1

LB 10/03/19 Item No. 23

SECTION 5. The financial allocations in this Ordinance are subject to approval by the Deputy Chief Financial Officer, City of San Antonio. The Deputy Chief Financial Officer may, subject to concurrence by the City Manager or the City Manager's designee, correct allocations to specific Cost Centers, WBS Elements, Internal Orders, General Ledger Accounts, and Fund Numbers as necessary to carry out the purpose of this Ordinance.

SECTION 6. This Ordinance shall take effect immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise it shall be effective ten days after its passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 3rd day of October, 2019.

R Y 0 A

Ron Nirenberg

a M. Vacek, City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

Agenda Item:	23 (in consent vote: 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 22, 23, 24, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31A, 31B, 32, 33A, 33B)						
Date:	10/03/2019						
Time:	10:12:14 AM						
Vote Type:	Motion to Approve						
Description:	Ordinance approving the submission of a local contribution in the amount of \$41,824.00 to the Texas Governor's Office in anticipation of reimbursement of up to \$303,223.00 from the Texas State Events Trust Fund for the American Association of Physicists 2019 Annual Meeting at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Funding in the amount of \$41,824.00 is available in the Convention and Sports Facilities State Reimbursement Fund FY 2020 Adopted Budget. [Carlos Contreras, Assistant City Manager; Patricia Muzquiz Cantor, Director, Convention and Sports Facilities]						
Result:	Passed						
Voter	Group	Not Present	Yea	Nay	Abstain	Motion	Second
Ron Nirenberg	Mayor		X				
Roberto C. Treviño	District 1		X				
Jada Andrews-Sullivan	District 2		X			х	
Rebecca Viagran	District 3		X				x
Adriana Rocha Garcia	District 4		X				
Shirley Gonzales	District 5		X				
Melissa Cabello Havrda	District 6		х				
Ana E. Sandoval	District 7		X	e			
Manny Pelaez	District 8		X				
John Courage	District 9		X				
Clayton H. Perry	District 10		X	1			