ORDINANCE 2020-08-06-0474

REAPPOINTING BRANDON LOGAN (COUNCIL DISTRICT APPOINTEE). RICHARD PEREZ (COUNCIL DISTRICT DR. TRACY HURLEY (COUNCIL DISTRICT APPOINTEE), APPOINTEE), DR. SHARI ALBRIGHT (COUNCIL DISTRICT APPOINTEE), AND APPOINTING JAN KIRBY (COUNCIL DISTRICT 10 APPOINTEE) TO THE ELEVEN-MEMBER PRE-K 4 SA BOARD OF DIRECTORS (CITY OF SAN ANTONIO'S EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION MUNICIPAL DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION) AS RECOMMENDED BY THE RESPECTIVE CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS FOR A TWO-YEAR TERM FROM JUNE 1, 2020 THROUGH MAY 31, 2022.

* * * * *

WHEREAS, Chapter 379A, Texas Local Government Code (the "Act") authorizes a municipality to create a municipal development corporation to develop and implement programs for early childhood development that prepare each child to enter school and make each child ready to learn after completing the program, that provide educational services to promote literacy, and that establish math, reading, and lifelong learning skills; and

WHEREAS, the City Council (the "City Council") of the City of San Antonio, Texas (the "City") authorized the creation of the San Antonio Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation (the "Corporation") for the purposes of developing early childhood literacy and educational programs in accordance with the Act; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Act, the City called a sales tax election, held on November 6, 2012, for voter approval to levy a sales and use tax for the benefit of the Corporation; and

WHEREAS, the voters approved the imposition of a 1/8 cent sales tax, and the City Council has passed an ordinance adopting and imposing such tax on December 13, 2012; and

WHEREAS, the Act requires the City Council to appoint one director to the Board of Directors for the Corporation from each city council district that elects a member to the City Council, plus the Mayor; and

WHEREAS, in compliance with the Act's requirement that Board members terms be staggered so that as near as possible to one-half of the member's terms expire each year, members appointed from odd-numbered districts, as well as the Mayor's appointee, serve terms that begin and expire in odd-numbered years, and members appointed from even-numbered districts serve terms that begin and expire in even-numbered years; and

SS 08/06/20 Item No. 14

WHEREAS, City Council members for the districts set out above hereby make their reappointments or appointments, as the case may be, for Board members for the Corporation with terms beginning June 1, 2020 and ending May 31, 2022; **NOW THEREFORE:**

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. Brandon Logan (Council District 2 Appointee), Richard Perez (Council District 4 Appointee), Dr. Tracy Hurley (Council District 6 Appointee), and Dr. Shari Albright (Council District 8 Appointee), are all reappointed and Jan Kirby (Council District 10 Appointee) is appointed to the eleven-member Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors (City of San Antonio's Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation) as recommended by the respective City Council Members for a two-year term from June 1, 2020 through May 31, 2022.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 6th day of August, 2020.

M A Y O R Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

Tina Flores, Acting City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:



City of San Antonio

City Council
August 06, 2020

Item: 14
File Number: 20-4016

Enactment Number: 2020-08-06-0474

Ordinance appointing Brandon Logan (Council District 2 Appointee), Richard Perez (Council District 4 Appointee), Dr. Tracy Hurley (Council District 6 Appointee), Dr. Shari Albright (Council District 8 Appointee), and Jan Kirby (Council District 10 Appointee) to the eleven-member Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors (City of San Antonio's Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation) as recommended by the respective City Council Members for a two-year term from June 1, 2020 through May 31, 2022. [Carlos Contreras III, Assistant City Manager; Sarah Baray, Ph.D., CEO, Pre-K 4 SA]

Councilmember Jada Andrews-Sullivan made a motion to approve. Councilmember John Courage seconded the motion. The motion passed by the following vote:

Aye: 11 Nirenberg, Treviño, Andrews-Sullivan, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Gonzales, Cabello Havrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage and Perry