## **ORDINANCE**

2020-08-06-0475

## AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT FIRE ENGINEER.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

**WHEREAS**, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

**WHEREAS**, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Ronald Carrillo was injured in the line of duty on October 8, 2018, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Fire Engineer Carrillo is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period December 14, 2019, to February 19, 2020; and

**WHEREAS**, approving the requested extension will restore 408 hours of accrued leave to Fire Engineer Carrillo; **NOW THEREFORE**:

## BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

**SECTION 1.** An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Carrillo's line-of-duty injury leave for the period December 14, 2019 to February 19, 2020, is hereby approved.

**SECTION 2.** This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 6th day of August, 2020.

Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

1.

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Tina Flores, Acting City Clerk

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

File Number: 20-3997 Enactment Number: 2020-08-06-0475



## City of San Antonio

City Council
August 06, 2020

Item: 17

File Number: 20-3997

**Enactment Number:** 2020-08-06-0475

Ordinance extending line-of-duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Fire Engineer Ronald Carrillo [Maria Villagomez, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]

Councilmember Jada Andrews-Sullivan made a motion to approve. Councilmember John Courage seconded the motion. The motion passed by the following vote:

**Aye:** 11 Nirenberg, Treviño, Andrews-Sullivan, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Gonzales, Cabello Havrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage and Perry