Item #6

Z-2020-10700059

(Continued from 06/02/2020) ZONING CASE Z-2020-10700059 (Council District 1): July 7, 2020

A request for a change in zoning from "O-2 AHOD" High Rise Office Airport Hazard Overlay District, "C-3NA AHOD" General Commercial Nonalcoholic Sales Airport Hazard Overlay District and "C-2 CD AHOD" Commercial Airport Hazard Overlay District with a Conditional use for a Construction Trades Contractor Facility to "MF-33 AHOD" Multi-Family Airport Hazard Overlay District on the north 112-feet of the south 231.67-feet of Lot 32 and Lot 34 and the south 113.85-feet of Lot 32 and Lot 34, NCB 11880, located at 538 Everest Street. Staff recommends Approval, pending Plan Amendment. (Associated Plan Amendment PA-2020-11600014). (Justin Malone, Planner 210-207-0157, Justin.Malone@sanantonio.gov; Development Services Department).

Staff stated 11 notices were mailed to property owners within 200 feet, 4 returned in favor, and 2 returned in opposition and no registered neighborhood association, 37 notices were received outside the 200' radius, however opposition from outside the 200' radius is from the Oak Park Neighborhood Association.

Patrick Christensen, 538 Everest St, gave a presentation regarding this project, spoke of all the work with the community and asked for approval

Live Public Comment

Megan Sams provided live public comments in opposition

Written Public Comment

Jamie Karutz submitted a letter in opposition

Patty Wallis submitted a letter in opposition

Susan and Ken Oleson, submitted a letter in opposition

Gina Dillon submitted a letter in opposition

Elida Wilson submitted a letter in opposition

Christina Garza submitted a letter in opposition

Kenneth Huey submitted a letter in opposition

Oscar Moreno submitted a letter in opposition

Molly Koernke submitted a letter in opposition

Susan Bowman submitted a letter in opposition

Mike Wise submitted a letter in opposition

Rose Marie Banack submitted a letter in opposition

Christine Gonzalez submitted a letter in opposition

Joe D. Pope submitted a letter in opposition James Mysliwiec submitted a letter in opposition Randy and Teena Larson submitted a letter in opposition Kevin Purcell submitted a letter in opposition Peter Greenblum submitted a letter in opposition Lydia Kendrick submitted a letter in opposition Chad Johannesan submitted a letter in opposition Natalie Jones submitted a letter in opposition Jesse Williamson submitted a letter in opposition Christopher Alviar submitted a letter in opposition Rhonda Rheical submitted a letter in opposition Logan Walker submitted a letter in opposition Maggie Zamora submitted a letter in opposition Margarita Rico submitted a letter in opposition Nancy Moreno submitted a letter in opposition Amrit Kaur Khalsa submitted a letter in opposition Trevor Long submitted a letter in opposition Steph Craig submitted a letter in opposition William McClusky submitted a letter in opposition Jacqueline and Charles Dodd submitted a letter in opposition Pattie Wallis V.P. Oakpark Northwood Neighborhood Association Victor Andonie submitted a letter in opposition Krishna Reddy submitted a letter in opposition Francisco Adell submitted a letter in opposition Rosemary Harrell submitted a letter in opposition Elaine Hartle submitted a letter in favor Ruth Moore submitted a letter in opposition Melissa Hoelscher submitted a letter in opposition Kate Jaceldo submitted a letter in opposition

Courtney Denton submitted a letter in opposition

Jannet Peavy submitted a letter in opposition

Victoria Godinez submitted a letter in opposition

Voicemails

Junior Valdez submitted a voicemail in opposition

Trevor Long submitted a voicemail in opposition

The Commission asked the applicant questions concerning the request. The Applicant responses were heard by the Commission as well as other testimonies offered, followed by a discussion among members before the vote.

Motion: Commissioner McGhee asked for a motion as presented.

Motion: Commissioner Greathouse made a motion for Denial

Second: Commissioner Whyte

In Favor: Greathouse, Whyte, Sipes, Jones, Gibbons, Kamath, Hui, McGhee

Opposed: Bustamante, Romero

Motion Carried for Denial