Item # 7

Z-2020-10700099

(Continued from 06/16/2020) ZONING CASE Z-2020-10700099 (Council District 10): July 7, 2020

A request for a change in zoning from "MF-33 AHOD" Multi-Family Airport Hazard Overlay District to "IDZ-1 AHOD" Limited Intensity Infill Development Zone Airport Hazard Overlay District with uses permitted for twenty (20) dwelling units on Lots 29, 30, 31 and 32, NCB 11876, located at 1841 Flamingo Drive. Staff recommends Approval, pending Plan Amendment. (Associated Plan Amendment PA-2020-11600032) (Lorianne Thennes, Planner 210-207-7945, lorianne.thennes@sanantonio.gov; Development Services Department)

Staff stated 35 notices were mailed to property owners within 200 feet, 11 returned in favor, and 5 returned in opposition and the Oak Park Neighborhood Association submitted a letter in opposition, 4 outside the 200' radius are opposed, 4 outside the 200' radius is in favor and a petition of 20 people submitted a petition in support.

Patrick Christensen, representative, amended his request from 20 units to 19 after meeting with the community. He gave a presentation and explained in detail the highlights of the project.

Written Public Comments

Oak Park Neighborhood Association submitted a letter in opposition

Robert and Lori Perez submitted a letter in opposition

Joe Varela submitted a letter in opposition

Ginny Sledge submitted a letter in opposition

Carol Wilson submitted a letter in opposition

Tom Woodley submitted a letter in opposition

Erma Plachy submitted a letter in opposition

James Mysliwiec submitted a letter in opposition

Megan Rangel submitted a letter in opposition

Jack Guerra submitted a letter in opposition

A petition was submitted signed by 20 citizens in opposition

Jill Rips submitted a letter in favor

John and Ester Austidillo submitted a letter in support

Gerald and Adriana Bickerstaff submitted a letter in support

Hershel Burres Elkier submitted a letter in support

Catherine and Malcolm Johnson submitted a letter in support

John C Quirk submitted a letter in favor

Elizabeth Marrero submitted a letter in favor

Jim Bob and Susan submitted a letter in favor

Martin Morris submitted a letter in favor

Rob Pritchard submitted a letter in favor

Teena Larson submitted a letter in favor

Ron Eisenberg submitted a letter in favor

Laura Zarsky submitted a letter in favor

The Commission asked the applicant questions concerning the request. The Applicant responses were heard by the Commission as well as other testimonies offered, followed by a discussion among members before the vote.

Motion: Commissioner McGhee asked for a motion as presented.

Motion: Commissioner Whyte made a motion for Approval as amended

Second: Commissioner Gibbons

In Favor: Whyte, Kamath, Gibbons, Jones, Sipes, Hui, Romero, McDaniel, McGhee

Opposed: None

Motion Carried