GOVERNANCE CITY COUNCIL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

AUGUST 3, 2020 at 10:00 AM VIDEOCONFERENCE

Committee Present:	Mayor Ron Nirenberg, Chair	
	Councilmember Adriana Rocha Garcia, District 4	
	Councilmember Shirley Gonzales, District 5	
	Councilmember Ana Sandoval, District 7	
	Councilmember John Courage, District 9	
Staff Present:	Erik Walsh, City Manager; Andy Segovia, City Attorney;	
	Tina J. Flores, Acting City Clerk	
Others Present:	Ed Belmares; Jelynne Burley; Olufemi Osidele; Leticia	
	Ozuna; Robert Potts; Fernando Reyes; James Smyle	

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Nirenberg called the meeting to order.

1. Approval of the Minutes from the Governance Council Committee Meeting of June 30, 2020.

Councilmember Courage moved to approve the Minutes from the Governance Council Committee Meeting of June 30, 2020. Councilmember Sandoval seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

2. Briefing and possible action on applicant interviews to the San Antonio Water System Board of Trustees (3 seats). [Tina J. Flores, Acting City Clerk]

Mayor Nirenberg announced his appointment of Jeylynne Burley as Chair to the San Antonio Water System Board of Trustees. He announced a three minute opening statement per candidate, followed by questions from the Committee. The following applicants for the three seats of the San Antonio Water System Board of Trustees were interviewed:

- 1. Jelynne Burley (North Sector and Chair)
- 2. Olufemi Osidele (South Sector)
- 3. Ed Belmares (South Sector)
- 4. Leticia Ozuna (Southeast Quadrant)
- 5. Fernando Reyes (South Sector)
- 6. James Smyle (Southeast Quadrant)
- 7. Robert Potts (South Sector)

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mayor Nirenberg recessed the meeting into Executive Session at 12:06 pm to discuss the following:

A. Deliberate the appointment, evaluation, and duties of public officers and discuss legal issues pursuant to Texas Government Code Section 551.074 (personnel matters) and Texas Government Code Section 551.071 (consultation with attorney).

RECONVENED

Mayor Nirenberg reconvened the meeting at 12:42 pm and announced that no action was taken in Executive Session.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia moved to nominate Jelynne Burley for the North Sector and Chair, and Leticia Ozuna for the Southeast Quadrant for the remainder of the four year terms of office expiring May 31, 2022; and Robert Potts for the South Sector for the remainder of the unexpired term expiring May 31, 2024, to fill the three seats of the San Antonio Water System Board of Trustees. Councilmember Gonzales seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further discussion, Mayor Nirenberg adjourned the meeting at 12:44 pm.

ATTEST:		
	Ro	n Nirenberg, Mayor
Tina J. Flores, LPEC Acting City Clerk	_	